This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 2 July, 2020

O'Connor and De Búrca claim Young Footballer and Hurler of the Year honours

The prizes were handed out at Dublin’s Convention centre this evening.

MAYO’S DIARMUID O’Connor and Waterford defender Tadhg de Búrca were honoured with the 2015 GAA/GPA Opel Young Footballer and Hurler of the Year awards this evening.

Ballintubber clubman O’Connor capped his second season with Mayo by claiming another Connacht senior title before the Westerners were defeated in the All-Ireland semi-final replay by champions Dublin.

Forward ace O’Connor saw off the challenge of Monaghan’s Ryan Wylie and Donegal star Ryan McHugh for the football award.

Diarmuid O’Connor Diarmuid O'Connor is the 2015 GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Meanwhile, Waterford’s excellent night at the Allstars was crowned by de Búrca’s Young Hurler of the year award.

The Clashmore/Kinsalebeg man was also named on the 2015 Hurling Allstar team in the number 6 position.

De Búrca beat off Galway pair Cathal Mannion and Jason Flynn to earn the Young Hurler of the Year prize.

Tadhg de Burca Waterford defender Tadhg de Búrca won the 2015 GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year award. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Reid and McCaffrey scoop GAA/GPA hurler and footballer of the year awards

7 Dubs, 4 Kerrymen: Here’s the 2015 Allstar football team of the year

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel