This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Friday 25 May, 2018

Champions Ardscoil Rís force quarter-final replay as Nenagh CBS claim extra-time win

The Limerick school rescued a draw against Midleton CBS.

pjimage (3) Limerick's Brian Ryan (Ardscoil Rís) and Tipperary's Jake Morris (Nenagh CBS) were both in action today.

REIGNING DR HARTY Cup champions ARDSCOIL Rís survived a major test before forcing a replay after extra-time in their quarter-final clash with Midleton CBS today.

The Limerick school looked set to bow out of the premier Munster colleges hurling competition in the game in Bansha, Tipperary.

But twice they grabbed levelling points, at the end of normal time to force the additional periods and at the end of extra time to send the tie to a replay as it finished in a 2-12 to 1-15 draw.

An early Joe Stack goal provided a boost for Midleton CBS but Ardscoil Rís, who had Brian Ryan from Limerick’s 2016 All-Ireland minor final team in their ranks, took control to go in front 0-7 to 1-1 at the break.

The East Cork school fought back in the second half and a late Liam Gosnell free looked to have secured victory before the reigning champions drew level at 1-9 to 0-12.

The sides swapped early goals in extra time with Gosnell netting for Midleton and James Daly raising a green flag for Ardscoil Rís. There was to be no separating them by the finish with details of the replay yet to be confirmed.

Extra time was also required in the quarter final tie in Cashel before Nenagh CBS set up a semi-final date with fellow Tipperary school Our Lady’s Templemore, as they defeated Waterford’s De La Salle by 0-20 to 2-13.

Backed by a strong breeze Nenagh CBS, who could call on Tipperary All-Ireland minor hurling winners Jake Morris and Jerome Cahill, moved into commanding position at the interval with a 0-13 to 1-2 advantage at Leahy Park.

Jerome Cahill Tipperary All-Ireland minor hurling winner Jerome Cahill Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

De La Salle club man Thomas Douglas notched a first half goal to give his school hope and he found the net again five minutes into the second half.

The Waterford outfit forged ahead entering the finale but were pegged back as Nenagh CBS forced a 2-11 to 0-17 draw.

And the 2012 All-Ireland kingpins Nenagh CBS went on to seal a narrow victory in extra-time.


Midleton CBS 2-12 Ardscoil Rís 1-15
Nenagh CBS 0-20 De La Salle 2-13

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

3 goals help Cork’s St Colman’s book Harty Cup semi-final place with win over Christians

Tipp All-Ireland minor winners key as Templemore see off Thurles in Harty Cup

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel