This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Sunday 24 June, 2018

Limerick's Ardscoil Rís are Harty Cup champions for the fourth time

Six unanswered second half points were crucial for Niall Moran’s charges.

Peter Casey joint captain of Ardscoil with his club Na Piarsaigh.
Peter Casey joint captain of Ardscoil with his club Na Piarsaigh.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Ardscoil Rís (Limerick) 0-11

Our Lady’s Templemore (Tipperary) 0-8

Jackie Cahill reports from MacDonagh Park, Nenagh

ARDSCOIL RÍS CLAIMED a fourth Harty Cup crown in Nenagh this afternoon, crushing hopes of a first title since 1978 for Our Lady’s Templemore.

A driving wind blowing towards the Nenagh end of MacDonagh Park, and heavy underfoot conditions, made life difficult for both sides but Ardscoil coped best as they added to their previous Harty wins in 2010, 2011 and 2014.

A run of six unanswered points in the second half proved the difference as Ardscoil came from two points down at half-time to claim the silverware.

With the elements in their favour after the break, Ardscoil got down to business as Paul O’Brien, Darragh Carroll, Peter Casey and David Fitzgerald grabbed the vital scores.

Niall Moran Ardscoil manager Niall Moran. Source: Cathal Noonan

Templemore were restricted to just one second half point – a Jamie Bergin free with 12 minutes left – and the Tipperary boys were left to rue their failure to maximise the wind advantage in the first half.

Templemore should have been further ahead at the break but Ardscoil, playing with a massed defence, kept it tight at the back.

Templemore adopted similar defensive tactics to ensure that this one would not develop into a high-scoring shootout.

Indeed, Templemore managed just two points from play in the entire game – the first of those supplied by Kevin Hassett before half-time.

When Ardscoil Rís got on a run, they found scores easier to come by and Peter Casey kickstarted what could be a memorable few weeks.

The Na Piarsaigh man won an All-Ireland U21 medal with Limerick last year and after adding a Harty win, he’ll be aiming for further glory with Na Piarsaigh in the AIB All-Ireland senior club hurling final on March 17.

Templemore led by 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time before Na Piarsaigh picked up the pace.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: Paul O’Brien 0-4 (3f), Brian Ryan, Peter Casey & David Fitzgerald 0-2 each, Darragh Carroll 0-1.
Scorers for Our Lady’s Templemore: Brian McGrath & Jamie Bergin 0-3f each, Kevin Hassett & Lyndon Fairbrother 0-1 each.


16. Sean Mullane (Mungret St Pat’s)

25. Ronan Connolly (Adare)
3. Sean Phelan (Broadford)
4. Sean Hogan (Adare)

5. Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Nathan Fox (Parteen – JC)
7. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)

8. John Flynn (Patrickswell)
9. Brian Ryan (South Liberties)

19. Darragh Carroll (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
11. Paul O’Brien (Mungret St Paul’s)
12. Páraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara)

13. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
18. David Fitzgerald (Clonlara)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh – JC)


14. Cian Moriarty (Clonlara) for O’Loughlin (56)
10. Darragh Cunningham (Cratloe) for Carroll (58)
21. Jack McInerney (Cratloe) for Fitzgerald (60+3)
2. Jack Delahunty (Newport) for Hogan (60+5)


1. Jack Kennedy (JK Brackens)

2. Conor O’Meara (Drom & Inch)
3. Diarmaid Ryan (Clonakenny)
4. Eoghan Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney)

5. Tom Murphy (JK Brackens)
6. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
7. Kevin Hassett (Drom & Inch)

8. David O’Shea (JK Brackens)
9. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens)

10. Jamie Bergin (Drom & Inch)
11. Anthony Ryan (captain – Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Stephen Nolan (Drom & Inch)

13. Paul Bergin (Drom & Inch)
14. Jerry Kelly (Borrisoleigh)
15. Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens)


17. Ray McCormack (Borrisoleigh) for Paul Bergin (40)
20. Ciaran Thorpe (Drom & Inch) for Kelly (53)

Referee: Nathan Wall (Cork).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Glory for Oisin McConville on the management front in Belfast today

Kilkenny star Larkin doesn’t let Syrian secondment stop him nailing the ‘Hurling Bin Challenge’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: