24 pictures that sum up the drama and colour of the 2016 club hurling year

Ballyea, Cuala, Slaughtneil and St Thomas were some of the hurling teams celebrating.

PLENTY DRAMA, PLENTY success and plenty disappointment.

2016 was packed with standout club hurling moments, here are some of the pictures that capture it.

24 pictures that sum up the drama and colour of the 2016 club hurling year
1 / 24
  • All-Ireland senior semi-final

    Na Piarsaigh's Cathal King comes to the assistance of Oulart-The Ballagh’s Des Mythen.Source: Gary Carr/INPHO
  • All-Ireland senior semi-final

    A roar of delight from Cushendall's Neil McManus after their success over Sarsfields.Source: Colm O'Neill/INPHO
  • All-Ireland junior final

    Eoghan Rua and Glemore players battle for the ball.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • All-Ireland intermediate final

    A second national crown in 12 months for Kilkenny's Bennettsbridge.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • All-Ireland senior final

    A special moment for Willie Mulcahy and the Na Piarsaigh players as they became the first Limerick club to win the All-Ireland SHC title.Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO
  • Ulster senior semi-final

    Loughgiel's Damon McMullan rises above Ballygalget players.Source: Presseye/Dylan McIlwaine/INPHO
  • Cork senior hurling final

    Little space for Glen Rovers Stephen McDonnell against Erins Own players.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Tipperary senior hurling final

    Thurles Sarsfields Padraic Maher takes a tumble against Kiladangan.Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO
  • Wexford senior final

    Ben O'Connor marks another title win for Oulart-The-Ballagh.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Galway senior final

    For the second time ever, St Thomas reach the peak of Galway club hurling.Source: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO
  • Waterford senior final

    Young Ballygunner fan Cian O'Sullivan joins in county final celebrations.Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO
  • Limerick senior final

    An end to 13 years of hurt for Patrickswell goalkeeper Brian Murray.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Ulster senior final

    Manager Mickey McShane after Slaughtneil become the first Derry club to win the provincial title.Source: Presseye/John McIlwaine/INPHO
  • Dublin senior final

    Ryan O'Dwyer has his son Oisin for company after the defeat to Kilmacud Crokes.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Kilkenny senior final

    Paddy Deegan and Henry Shefflin collide on Noreside.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Clare senior final

    Tony Kelly leaps with joy after Ballyea's Banner breakthrough.Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Munster senior quarter-final

    A narrow defeat is tough to take for Ballygunner and their goalkeeper Stephen O'Keeffe.Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO
  • Leinster senior quarter-final

    Con O'Callaghan smashes home a goal for Cuala against Borris-Kilcotton.Source: Colm O'Neill/INPHO
  • Munster senior semi-final

    First pump of delight for Ballyea's Gary Brennan.Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO
  • Munster senior semi-final

    Glen Rovers rise for the warm-up in the Gaelic Grounds.Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Leinster senior semi-final

    St Mullins John Doran and Seamus Murphy crestfallen after their defeat to Cuala.Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Leinster senior semi-final

    Oulart-the-Ballagh's Peter Murphy gets away from O'Loughlin Gaels Eddie Kearns.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Munster senior final

    Damien Burke rises as a provincial champion with Ballyea.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Leinster senior final

    Cuala's band of colourful and noisy fans cheer their team on.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: