# Stars Of The Show
7 from Galway and 5 from Waterford - the 2017 All-Star hurling team
Cork and Tipperary also have winners in the PWC All-Star awards.

Updated at 08.30

SEVEN PLAYERS FROM All-Ireland champions Galway and five from beaten finalists Waterford have been honoured in the 2017 PwC All-Star hurling team.

Gearoid McInerney with Jamie Barron Tommy Dickson / INPHO Gearoid NcInerney and Jamie Barron in action in the final. Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

There are two winners from beaten All-Ireland semi-finalists Cork and one from Tipperary included.

Galway have recipients in Padraic Mannion, Daithí Burke, Gearóid McInerney , David Burke, Joe Canning, Conor Whelan and Conor Cooney.

Waterford’s winners are Stephen O’Keeffe, Noel Connors, Jamie Barron, Kevin Moran and Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh.

Mark Coleman and Patrick Horgan are honoured from Cork, while Tipperary’s Padraic Maher makes up the 15.

There are six first-time All-Stars in there — O’Keeffe, Mannion, McInerney, Coleman, Whelan and Cooney. Maher collects his fifth All-Star, while Canning, Walsh and Burke each win their fourth gong.

Mark Coleman Morgan Treacy / INPHO Cork's Mark Coleman has been honoured. Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

It’s also notable that David Burke and Jamie Barron form the midfield partnership for the second year running.

“Ever since the inaugural presentation of these awards in 1971, being an All-Star has been regarded as something truly special in the GAA,” GAA Ard Stiúrthóir Páraic Duffy said.

“Our passion for our Games is fueled by the heroic exploits of the players who inspire us week after week, and I want to congratulate the high caliber PwC All-Star class of 2017 on their selection, which is recognition of their consistent excellence.”

The GAA/GPA’s PwC All-Stars were selected at Croke Park on Wednesday by a cross section of Gaelic Games Correspondents in the national media.

The newly-crowned All-Stars will receive their awards at a gala banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday evening (live on RTE 1, 7pm).

Padraic Maher Ryan Byrne / INPHO Padraic Maher scoops his fifth All-Star. Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

The announcement of the 2017 PwC All-Star football team will be made live on Friday night, as will the announcement of the Footballer and Hurler of the Year, and the Young Footballer and Hurler of the Year.

2017 PwC All-Star Hurling Team of the Year

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford) – First-time All-Star

2. Padraic Mannion (Galway) – First-time winner
3. Daithí Burke (Galway) – Third-time winner
4. Noel Connors (Waterford) – Third-time winner

5. Padraic Maher (Tipperary) – Five-time winner
6. Gearóid McInerney (Galway) – First-time winner
7. Mark Coleman (Cork) – First time winner

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford) – Two-time winner
9. David Burke (Galway) – Four-time winner

10. Kevin Moran (Waterford) – Two-time winner
11. Joe Canning (Galway) – Four-time winner
12. Michael Walsh (Waterford) – Four-time winner

13. Conor Whelan (Galway) – First-time winner
14. Conor Cooney (Galway) – First-time winner
15. Patrick Horgan (Cork) – Two-time winner

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

The moment James McCarthy’s father knew he had something special

Dublin duo Aherne and Healy join Cora on shortlist for Player of the Year award

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel