This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13 °C Saturday 15 August, 2020

Poll: Who do you think will win the All-Ireland senior hurling championship in 2017?

Will Tipperary retain the Liam MacCarthy Cup?

2017 DAWNS AND the focus will slowly start to shift to the major sport events that will take place.

Brendan Maher lifts the Liam McCarthy Cup Can Tipperary retain the All-Ireland title? Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

In hurling Tipperary will enter the season as reigning All-Ireland senior champions for the first time in six years. Tipperary haven’t done back-to-back Liam MacCarthy Cup triumphs since 1965, will this year be different?

Kilkenny are smarting from last September’s final loss but the last time Brian Cody saw his side defeated in the All-Ireland decider, they bounced back to win the next two.

2015 finalists Galway ran the 2016 champions to a point at the semi-final stage. Waterford only failed to reach the final last year after losing a semi-final replay by two points.

Tony Kelly and Kevin Moran Clare's Tony Kelly and Waterford's Kevin Moran Source: Lorraine OÕSullivan/INPHO

And 2013 kingpins Clare have new management in place as they seek to recapture past glories.

Is the race for honours between those five or can you see another team bursting in to contention?

Let us know.

Poll Results:

Tipperary (1885)
Waterford (669)
Kilkenny (493)
Clare (418)
Other (398)
Galway (384)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel