Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Sunday 9 May 2021

7 from Tipperary and 4 from Kilkenny - the 2016 All-Star hurling team

Galway and Waterford also have winners in the GAA-GPA awards.

Seamus Callanan with Daithi Burke Tipperary's Seamus Callanan with Galway's Daithi Burke Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

SEVEN PLAYERS FROM All-Ireland champions Tipperary and four from beaten finalists Kilkenny have been honoured in the 2016 GAA-GPA All-Star hurling team.

There are two winners apiece from beaten All-Ireland semi-finalists in Galway and Waterford.

Kingpins Tipperary have winners in Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Ronan, Padraic and Patrick Maher, Seamus Callanan and John McGrath.

Kilkenny’s recipients are Eoin Murphy, Padraig Walsh, Walter Walsh and Richie Hogan.

Daithi and David Burke are honoured from Galway while Jamie Barron and Austin Gleeson are the successful players from Waterford.

7 from Tipperary and 4 from Kilkenny - the 2016 All-Star hurling team
1 / 15
  • Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny - Glenmore)

    Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Cathal Barrett (Tipperary - Holycross Ballycahill)

    Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • James Barry (Tipperary - Upperchurch Drombane)

    Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Daithi Burke (Galway - Turloughmore)

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny - Tullaroan)

    Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Ronan Maher (Tipperary - Thurles Sarsfields)

    Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO
  • Padraic Maher (Tipperary - Thurles Sarsfields)

    Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Jamie Barron (Waterford - Fourmilewater)

    Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • David Burke (Galway - St Thomas)

    Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Walter Walsh (Kilkenny - Tullogher Rosbercon)

    Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Austin Gleeson (Waterford - Mount Sion)

    Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Patrick Maher (Tipperary - Lorrha Dorrha)

    Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Richie Hogan (Kilkenny - Danesfrot)

    Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Seamus Callanan (Tipperary - Drom & Inch)

    Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • John McGrath (Tipperary - Loughmore Castleiney)

    Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

There are nine first-time winners in Murphy, Barrett, Barry, Padraig Walsh, Ronan Maher, Barron, Walter Walsh, Gleeson and John McGrath.

Padraic Maher and Richie Hogan both collect their fourth All-Star while it’s a third award for Seamus Callanan and David Burke. Patrick Maher and Daithi Burke both previously won one award.

There are four players from last year’s team again honoured in Hogan, Callanan and the Burke duo from Galway. Indeed it is the third successive year that sharphshooters Hogan and Callanan have claimed awards.

Ronan and Padraic Maher are the first Tipperary brothers to win All-Stars in the same year since Paul and Eoin Kelly achieved that feat in 2002.

Padraig Walsh follows in the footsteps of his older brother Tommy who won nine awards during his Kilkenny career, while John McGrath’s older brother is a two-time recipient.

2016 GAA/GPA All-Star Hurling Team of the Year

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny) – First time winner

2. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary) – First time winner
3. James Barry (Tipperary) – First time winner
4. Daithi Burke (Galway) – Winner in 2015

5. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny) – First time winner
6. Ronan Maher (Tipperary) – First time winner
7. Padraic Maher (Tipperary) – Winner in 2009, 2011 and 2014

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford) – First time winner
9. David Burke (Galway) – Winner in 2012 and 2015

10. Walter Walsh (Kilkenny) – First time winner
11. Austin Gleeson (Waterford) – First time winner
12. Patrick Maher (Tipperary) – Winner in 2014

13. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny) – Winner in 2011, 2014 and 2015
14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary) – Winner in 2014 and 2015
15. John McGrath (Tipperary) – First time winner

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Castleknock’s remarkable journey to the top of Dublin club football

Leinster club winner and Kilkenny All-Ireland champion join Wexford backroom team

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: