This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 23 February, 2019

11 for Kerry, 9 for Donegal, 9 for Dublin and 6 for Mayo in 2014 Allstar football nominees

The awards will be presented at the annual Allstars banquet in the Convention Centre in Dublin on Friday October 24th.

Paul Durcan and Eamonn McGee with Kieran Donaghy Paul Durcan, Kieran Donaghy and Éamonn McGee have all been nominated for Allstar football awards. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Kerry lead the way with 11 nominations for this year’s GAA-GPA Allstar football awards.

The Opel sponsored event also sees Donegal and Dublin get nine nominations each with Mayo receiving six and Monaghan claiming four. Armagh (2), Tipperary, Derry, Cork and Galway (all one each) complete the 45-player list.

The awards will be presented at the annual Allstars banquet in the Convention Centre in Dublin on Friday October 24th.

Ten members of last year’s Allstar winning team are nominated on this occasion – Stephen Cluxton, Rory O’Carroll, Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Michael Darragh MacAuley, Aidan O’Shea, Paul Flynn, James O’Donoghue and Conor McManus.

The list of nominees in full is:

Paul Durcan (Donegal)
Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton Dublin's Stephen Cluxton.

Drew Wylie (Monaghan)
Fionn Fitzgerald (Kerry)
Keith Higgins (Mayo)
Éamonn McGee (Donegal)
Neil McGee (Donegal)
Andy Mallon (Armagh)
Philly McMahon (Dublin)
Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)
Paul Murphy (Kerry)

Paul Murphy Kerry's Paul Murphy Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Aidan O’Mahony (Kerry)
Colm Boyle (Mayo)
Peter Crowley (Kerry)
James McCarthy (Dublin)
Frank McGlynn (Donegal)
Dessie Mone (Monaghan)
Colin O’Riordan (Tipperary)
Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
Lee Keegan (Mayo)

Colin OÕRiordan celebrates 12/7/2014 Tipperary's Colin O'Riordan. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Anthony Maher (Kerry)
David Moran (Kerry)
Neil Gallagher (Donegal)
Odhrán MacNiallais (Donegal)
MD MacAuley (Dublin)
Seamus O’Shea (Mayo)

Seamus O'Shea Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Johnny Buckley (Kerry)
Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)
Paul Flynn (Dublin)
Mark Lynch (Derry)
Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)
Ryan McHugh (Donegal)
Michael Murphy (Donegal)
Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry)
Shane Walsh (Galway)

Shane Walsh Galway's Shane Walsh Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)
Paul Geaney (Kerry)
James O’Donoghue (Kerry)
Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)
Brian Hurley (Cork)
Tony Kernan (Armagh)
Kevin McManamon (Dublin)
Conor McManus (Monaghan)
Patrick McBrearty (Donegal)

James OÕDonoghue celebrates after the gameKerry’s James O’DonoghueSource: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

11 for Dublin and 10 for Cork in the 2014 Ladies Football Allstar nominations

Gooch on how the Kerry ‘family’ helped him cope with his knee injury and his mother’s death

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: