Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: -1°C Monday 25 January 2021

New Meath boss brings back some familiar faces for opening game in charge on Sunday

Meath take on Wicklow in the O’Byrne Cup on Sunday.

ANDY MCENTEE WILL patrol the sideline for the first time as Meath senior football manager in a competitive game on Sunday afternoon against Wicklow in the O’Byrne Cup.

Ballyboden's All-Ireland club winning manager Andy McEntee Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

And for his opening team selection, he’s handed recalls to some familiar faces. Midfielder Bryan Menton and attacker Brian Sheridan notably return to the side with Menton having taken a year out in 2016, while Sheridan has been absent in recent seasons.

Bryan Menton Bryan Menton featured in the 2015 championship against Westmeath Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Brian Sheridan Brian Sheridan pictured in action in the 2013 O'Byrne Cup Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

McEntee has plenty experience to draw upon after picking seven players from last July’s championship exit against Derry.

Donal Keogan, Donnacha Tobin, Mickey Burke, Cian O’Brien, Cillian O’Sullivan, Graham Reilly and Bryan McMahon are all survivors from that game, which transpired to be former manager Mick O’Dowd’s last in charge.

McEntee’s son Shane will start at centre-back after featuring as a substitute during O’Dowd’s time at the helm last year.


1. Jack Hannigan (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)

2. Donal Keogan (Rathkenny)
3. Donnacha Tobin (Blackhall Gaels)
4. Mickey Burke (Longwood)

5. Conor Downey (Na Fianna)
6. Shane McEntee (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
7. Sean Curran (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)

8. Bryan Menton (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)
9. Cian O’Brien (Ratoath)

10. Cillian O’Sullivan (Moynalvey)
11. Graham Reilly (St Colmcille’s)
12. Paddy Kennelly (Dunderry)

13. Kevin Ross (Castletown)
14. Brian Sheridan (Seneschalstown)
15. Bryan McMahon (Ratoath)


16. Robbie Burlingham (Simonstown Gaels)
17. David McQuillan (St Patrick’s)
18. William Carry (Drumbaragh)
19. Adam Flanagan (Clonard)
20. Donal Lenihan (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
21. Sean Tobin (Simonstown Gaels)
22. Ruairí Ó Coileáin (Navan O’Mahony’s)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Kelly’s retirement another sign of changing of the guard in Cork football

Condensing the inter-county season is the Club Players Association’s priority – McKaigue

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel