This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Tuesday 7 April, 2020

European Player of the Year to receive newly-commissioned Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy

The EPCR is honouring the Munster and Ireland legend with a special tribute.

The new Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.
The new Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.
Image: INPHO

EUROPEAN PROFESSIONAL Club Rugby [EPCR] has announced that it will make a fitting tribute to late Munster and Ireland legend Anthony Foley.

After running the idea past the province and Foley’s family, the EPCR has commissioned the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy, which will be presented to the European Player of the Year.

The rugby world was left devastated last October when the 42-year-old coach passed away in a Paris hotel while travelling with the Munster squad for a European Champions Cup tie against Racing 92.

“This is a fitting way to honour Anthony’s memory,” said EPCR chairman Simon Halliday. “He was a great player and a great leader as well as a galvanising force in Munster’s European odyssey.

I would like to thank the Foley family and Munster Rugby for allowing us create this trophy for now and for the future.”

Among the five-strong list of nominees for this year’s prize is Munster and Ireland star CJ Stander, along with Leinster’s Garry Ringrose,  Camille Lopez of Clermont Auvergne and Saracens pair Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje.

O’Driscoll spear tackle fallout helped ‘galvanise’ All Blacks, says Graham Henry

After ditching plans to study medicine and play for Leinster, Meath teen is determined to excel in AFL

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: