Kerry's Kevin Shanahan was in action for Ardfert today. Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Ardfert claim Munster Club IFC title after edging out Valley Rovers

The North Kerry side have plenty of club championship experience – they were All-Ireland junior champions in 2006.

Ardfert 1-12

Valley Rovers 1-10

ARDFERT WERE DOMINANT in the final 20 minutes as they overhauled Valley Rovers to claim the Munster Club IFC title at Fitzgerald Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The North Kerry side have plenty of club championship experience — they were All-Ireland junior champions in 2006 and intermediate winners a year later — and they brought that to bear in outscoring their Cork opponents by 1-4 to 0-1 from the 40th minute.

A goal from their outstanding attacker Damien Wallace, after sub Brandon Barrett had had a shot blocked, brought them level at 1-9 each and they seized the momentum after that, with Shane Griffin putting them ahead for the first time since before John Cottrell’s first-half goal for Valleys.

Wallace’s free put two in it and while Valleys sub Aidan Walsh ended their drought, John Egan’s third point ensured that it was glory for Ardfert.

They had begun the game well, with Wallace, Egan and David Griffin on target as they moved into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead in front of 1,291 but, despite having lost talisman Kevin Canty to an early injury, Valleys found some traction.

Gary Farrell made it 0-3 to 0-2 before he produced a surging run and though his shot was saved by Nicholas O’Sullivan, Cottrell was in the right place to turn the ball home. Playing with confidence, they soon built up a four-point lead but Ardfert got three before half-time to leave the minimum in it at half-time.

The Innishannon side responded well at the outset of the second half, however, and an excellent Cottrell free put them 1-9 to 0-8 in front after 39. They would only score once more, though, while Ardfert found an extra gear.

Scorers for Ardfert: Damien Wallace 1-4 (0-1 free), Shane Griffin, John Egan 0-3 each, David Griffin 0-2.
Scorers for Valley Rovers: John Cottrell 1-4 (0-2 frees), Hughie O’Donovan (0-1 free), Eoin Manning 0-2 each, Gary Farrell, Aidan Walsh 0-1 each.


1. Nicholas O’Sullivan

7. Michael Moloney
3. Rory Horgan
4. Darren Dineen

5. Daniel Collins
6. Stephen Leen
2. Fionán Horgan

8. John Dowling
12. Kevin Shanahan

9. Trevor Wallace
10. David Griffin
19. Darren Wallace

13. Shane Griffin
11. Damien Wallace
15. John Egan


20. Brandon Barrett for Leen (38, injured)
17. Jerry Wallace for Rory Horgan (44, black card)


1. Alan Quirke

4. Ben Murphy
3. Joe Lynch
2. Noel O’Donovan

7. Jack Lyons
6. David Lynch
5. Darragh Crowley

8. Kevin Canty
9. Darragh Murphy
12. Eoghan Delaney

11. Gary Farrell
10. Jack Murphy

13. John Cottrell
14. Fiachra Lynch
15. Hughie O’Donovan


23. Eoin Manning for Canty (10, injured)
22. Mikey Power for Delaney (half-time)
27. Thomas O’Brien for Ben Murphy (40)
18. Aidan Walsh for Lyons (50)
17. Tim Cummins for Jack Murphy (53)

If you love Cork, history and running… then this man has the activity for you>

Rory McIlroy implodes as trio lead Australian Open>