Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Sunday 11 April 2021

Billy Morgan's UCC side claim victory in Sigerson Cup opener against GMIT

Five points was the difference between the teams at the Mardyke.

Billy Morgan steered his UCC team to victory today.
Billy Morgan steered his UCC team to victory today.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

UCC 2-13
GMIT 2-8

LAST YEAR’S FINALISTS UCC got their Sigerson Cup campaign off to a winning start with today’s first round win at the Mardyke over GMIT.

The hosts took better advantage of the cross wind early on; Jordan Kiely’s sublime point from a tight angle the highlight of a strong opening spell.

The visitors were struggling to break down a stubborn full-back line, and had only a Damien Brennan free to show for their early endeavours before two quick fire UCC goals put distance between the sides.

In the 20th minute an excellent Ian Maguire ball set Jordan Kiely up to deftly finish into the corner, while two minutes later David Harrington smashed the ball into the net after Kevin Davis’ good work in midfield.

Just before the half the visitors had a glint of hope, as Andy Glennon’s ball was fisted into the net by Martin Farragher to make it 2-5 to 1-2 at the break.

In the second UCC turned up the pressure and some excellent direct play saw them ratchet up scores on the board, leading by 12 points at one stage.


The visitors battled back late however and scored a consolation after Jamie Downes hacked in the rebound after a smart Mícheál Aodh Martin save.

However with only moments remaining the goal served only to put some respectability on the scoreline, and the win was deserved for the Mardyke outfit who will be pleased with their first outing in this year’s competition.

Jordan Kiely celebrates scoring a goal Kerry's Jordan Kiely bagged 1-3 today for UCC. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for UCC: David Harrington 1-3, Conor Cox 0-6 (0-4 frees), Jordan Kiely 1-2, Kevin Davis, Conor Horgan 0-1 each.

Scorers for GMIT: Andy Glennon 1-3 (0-2 frees), Martin Farragher 0-3, Damien Shaughnessy 1-0, Damien Brennan 0-2 (0-1 frees).


1. Mícheál Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers, Cork)

2. Colm Hyde (Naomh Abán, Cork)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowell Emmets, Kerry)
4. Kevin Fulignati (Nemo Rangers, Cork)

28. Sean White (Clonakilty, Cork)
6. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCartaigh, Cork)
7. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel, Kerry)

8. Gary O’Sullivan (Listry, Kerry)
9. Ian Maguire (St. Finbarr’s, Cork)

10. Kevin Davis (O’Donovan Rossa, Cork)
11. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers, Cork)
12. Sean Kiely (Ballincollig, Cork)

19. Jordan Kiely (Dr Crokes, Kerry)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets, Kerry)
15. David Harrington (Adrigole, Cork)

Kevin Crowley (Millstreet) for White (43)
Conor Horgan (Nemo Rangers) for Kevin Davis (45)
Cathal Murphy (Rathmore) for Walsh (50)
Ian Galvin (Sneem/Derrynane) for Kiely (52)
Jamie Davis (Douglas) for Hyde (53)
Sam Oakes (Bishopstown) for O’Driscoll (57)


1. Conor Nolan (Milltown, Galway)

2. Cathal Reilly (Corofin, Galway)
3. Andrew Farrell (Cashel, Longford)
4. Joe Kinahan (Ballycumber, Offaly)

5. Kevin Nally (Caherlistrane, Galway)
6. Patrick Holloway (Castledaly, Westmeath)
19. Jamie Downes (St Michael’s, Galway)

8. Damian Brennan (Milltown, Galway)
9. Padraic Prendergast (Boyle, Roscommon)

10. Adrian Molloy (Corofin, Galway)
11. Mike Farragher (Corofin, Galway)
12. Ronan Steede (Corofin, Galway)

13. Andy Glennon (Michael Glaveys, Roscommon
14. Martin Farragher (Corofin, Galway)
15. Joseph Donnellan (Cortoon Shamrocks,Galway)

25. Hugh Boyle (Naomh Mhuire, Donegal) for Kinahan (23’)
17. Martin Shaughnessy (Kilkerrin Clonberne, Galway) for Brennan (39’)
22. Michael Mangan (Davitts, Mayo) for Nally (39’)
18. Alan Meeneghan (Headford, Galway) for Mike Farragher (56’)

Referee: Barry Kelly (Clare)

Living in America! Galway don’t know if Johnny Glynn will be back hurling this year

GAA gate receipts fell 9% in 2015 and hurling attendances were largely to blame

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel