Dublin: 11°C Tuesday 3 August 2021

Cork and Kilkenny dominate Camogie Allstar nominations

There were 45 nominees announced yesterday with the final 15 being decided next month.

Cork and Milford player Ashling Thompson who won her first senior All Ireland with Cork this September has received a nomination at midfield.
Cork and Milford player Ashling Thompson who won her first senior All Ireland with Cork this September has received a nomination at midfield.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

THIS YEAR’S ALL-Ireland champions Cork and finalists Kilkenny have dominated the Camogie Allstar shortlist announced yesterday.

The final team will be announced at the Allstars’ banquet in association with Liberty Insurance at Citywest on November 1st.

Cork, who won the All-Ireland title last month, received 14 nominations with goalkeeper Aoife Murray and defenders Joanne O’Callaghan, Anna Geary, Laura Treacy, Eimear O’Sullivan and Gemma O’Connor amongst the 45 nominees.

Rena Buckley and Ashling Thompson have been nominated at midfield. Jennifer O’Leary, Orla Cotter, Briege Corkery, Angela Walsh, Julia White and Katriona Mackey are amongst the forward nominees.

Kilkenny have the second highest number of nominations with 12, Wexford have received six nominations, while Clare who reached this year’s Division 1 League final have four players in contention for All-Stars.

Galway received three nominations, as did Offaly, with Derry receiving two nominations with Grainne McGoldrick at left corner-forward and team-mate Karen Kielt nominated for a left half-forward spot.

Speaking about the announcement President of the Camogie Association Aileen Lawlor said:

“The Allstars celebrate the outstanding displays of skill, commitment and sportsmanship by our players. It is important to acknowledge at a national level the contribution made by our players to the game over the course of this season and to provide them with the recognition they so richly deserve.

2013 Camogie All Stars award winners Last year's Camogie Allstar team, we'll have to wait a little longer for the 2014 selection though. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

“This year has marked a very special milestone for the Association as we celebrated our 110th birthday and the All-Stars will provide a fitting finale to a great year for the game.”

2014 Camogie All-Stars in association with Liberty Insurance

The shortlist of 45 is as follows:

Goalkeeper: Mags D’Arcy (Wexford) Aoife Murray (Cork) Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny)

Right full-back: Mairead Power (Kilkenny) Joanne O’Callaghan (Cork) Deirdre Codd (Wexford)

Full-back: Maire McGrath (Clare) Anna Geary (Cork) Jacqui Frisby (Kilkenny)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Left full-back: Chloe Morey (Clare) Laura Treacy (Cork) Sarah Dervan (Galway)

Right half-back: Claire Phelan (Kilkenny) Eimear O’Sullivan (Cork) Niamh O’Dea (Clare)

Centre-back: Michaela Morkan (Offaly) Gemma O’Connor (Cork) Mary Leacy (Wexford)

Left half-back: Lorraine Ryan (Galway) Collette Dormer (Kilkenny) and Elaine Aylward (Kilkenny)

Centre-field: Niamh Kilkenny (Galway) Rena Buckley (Cork) Siobhan Flannery (Offaly)

Centre-field: Ann Dalton (Kilkenny) Ashling Thompson (Cork) Josie Dwyer (Wexford)

Right half-forward: Kate Kelly (Wexford) Jennifer O’Leary (Cork) Denise Gaule (Kilkenny)

Centre-forward: Aishling Dunphy (Kilkenny) Niamh McGrath (Galway) Orla Cotter (Cork)

Left half-forward: Karen Kielt (Derry) Briege Corkery (Cork) Angela Walsh (Cork)

Right full-forward: Shelly Farrell (Kilkenny) Julia White (Cork) Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny)

Full-forward: Ursula Jacob (Wexford) Katie Power (Kilkenny) Tina Hannon (Offaly)

Left full-forward: Claire McMahon (Clare) Katriona Mackey (Cork) Grainne McGoldrick (Derry)

As it happened: Cork v Kilkenny, All-Ireland Senior Camogie final

Snapshot – All-Ireland champions Cork visited Crumlin Children’s Hospital today

Read next: