Joe Giddens Piutau made Wasps a force to be reckoned with in his time there.
# Star Power
Piutau to make Ulster debut in Exeter, Ringrose back in the fold for Leinster
Both provinces take on Premiership clubs tomorrow afternoon.

ULSTER’S MARQUEE SIGNING Charles Piutau will wear the 15 shirt for the first time tomorrow when Les Kiss’ men take on the Exeter Chiefs in a pre-season friendly (15.00).

Brett Herron, who made his debut against Leinster last weekend, starts as Ruan Pienaar’s half-back partner with Ireland U20 star Jacob Stockdale and Louis Ludik manning the wing slots outside Darren Cave and Stuart McCloskey.

New joint-captain Rob Herring is joined in the front row by another new recruit, Ireland international Rodney Ah You, who packs down as tighthead prop.

Ulster (v Exeter Chiefs)

15. Charles Piutau
14. Louis Ludik
13. Darren Cave
12. Stu McCloskey
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Brett Herron
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Callum Black
2. Rob Herring (Capt)
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Pete Browne
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Robbie Diack
7. Clive Ross
8. Roger Wilson

Replacements from: J Andrew, K McCall, A Warwick, J Simpson, A O’Connor, K Treadwell, M Rea, S Mulholland, P Marshall, J McPhillips, S Windsor, M Best, D Busby, R Lyttle.

Leinster will also be in pre-season action at 15.00 tomorrow when Gloucester visit Tallaght Stadium.

Leo Cullen has handed a debut to back row Josh Murphy and he’ll be partnered by Josh van der Flier and captain for the night Jack Conan. Former Munster lock Ian Nagle makes his first start for the eastern province.

Ian Nagle Gary Carr / INPHO Lock Ian Nagle. Gary Carr / INPHO / INPHO

Behind the pack, Garry Ringrose makes his first appearance of the pre-season with Niall Morris continuing at fullback and Nick McCarthy and Cathal Marsh taking the half-back slots.

Leinster (v Gloucester)

15. Niall Morris
14. Adam Byrne
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Tom Daly
11. Barry Daly
10. Cathal Marsh
9. Nick McCarthy

1. Peter Dooley
2. Bryan Byrne
3. Michael Bent
4. Ian Nagle
5. Hayden Triggs
6. Josh Murphy
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jack Conan (Capt)

Replacements from: J Tracy, S McNulty, A Porter, J Loughman. V Abdaladze, R Molony, D Ryan, D Leavy. P Timmins, C Rock. J Carbery, R Byrne. F McFadden, Z Kirchner. R O’Loughlin.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Ian Madigan starts opposite James Hart and Dan Carter as Bordeaux host champions in Top 14 opener

Glasgow call in Chiefs coach Rennie to replace Gregor Townsend

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.