Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 3°C Saturday 26 September 2020

Brilliant late free rescues PS Chorca Dhuibhne in Corn Uí Mhuirí final draw with Rochestown

The sides will face off in a replay next Sunday.

Shane Kingston (right) scored 0-6 today for Rochestown College.
Shane Kingston (right) scored 0-6 today for Rochestown College.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne (Kerry) 1-10
Rochestown College (Cork) 1-10

A LONG-RANGE injury-time free from Séamus Ó Muircheartaigh earned reigning All-Ireland champions Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne a draw as they denied St Francis College victory in the Corn Uí Mhuirí final at Dr Crokes’ grounds in Killarney today.

While Corca Dhuibhne – seeking their fourth consecutive Munster Post-Primary Schools U18½AFC victory – led by 1-7 to 0-5 with 20 minutes remaining, Rochestown managed to summon extra reserves.

They hit the front through their best player, Cork minor captain Seán Powter, in the final minute of normal time but Corca Dhuibhne got one last opportunity when awarded a free just inside the 45m line. While he had the wind against him, Ó Muircheartaigh produced an excellent free to send the game to a replay.

It wasn’t a great game, with both sides’ play littered with errors. However, for much of the proceedings Corca Dhuibhne made fewer mistakes. They led at half-time by 1-4 to 0-5, the goal coming in the 15th minute as impressive wing-back Tom Ó Súilleabháin’s shot was deflected to the net.

Tom O'Suilleabhain Tom Ó Súilleabháin found the net for PS Chorca Dhuibhne today. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Shane Kingston’s points were keeping Rochestown in touch though and, with the wind to come in the second half, they looked in good shape ahead of the resumption.

Instead, Corca Dhuibhne reeled off three points in a row, two by Conchúir Ó Géibheannaigh and one from Máirtín Ó Gormáin. Rochestown were wasting chances, but points by Kingston and Evan Ryle had them trailing by a goal, 1-7 to 0-7, at the three-quarter mark.

The leveller arrived on 14 as Ciarán Cormack got his fist to Daniel Meaney’s delivery and though Gearóid Ó hIcí Ó Brosnacháin and Ó Géibheannaigh replied with Corca Dhuibhne points, Rochestown found their stride near the end.

Pressure yielded two frees which Kingston converted to tie matters and then Powter looked to have won it for them but Ó Muircheartaigh ensured that a second outing will be required.

Scorers for Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne: Conchúir Ó Géibheannaigh 0-5 (0-3f), Tom Ó Súilleabháin 1-1, Séamus Ó Muircheartaigh 0-2 (0-1f), Máirtín Ó Gormáin, Gearóid Ó hIcí Ó Brosnacháin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Rochestown College: Shane Kingston 0-6 (0-3f), Ciarán Cormack 1-1, Liam O’Sullivan, Evan Ryle, Seán Powter 0-1 each.

PS Chorca Dhuibhne

16. Lucas de Bhailís (An Ghaeltacht)

2. Conchúir Ó Súilleabháin (Dingle)
3. Tomás Ó Súilleabháin (Dingle)
4. Cian Ó Murchú (An Ghaeltacht)

5. Aodhán Ó Conchúir (Dingle)
6. Briain Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht)
7. Tom Ó Súilleabháin (Dingle)

8. Pádraig Mac an tSithigh (Dingle)
23. Marc Ó Conchúir (Dingle)

12. Gearóid Ó hIcí Ó Brosnacháin
17. Seamus Ó Muircheartaigh (An Ghaeltacht)
10. Mairtín Ó Gormáin (An Ghaeltacht)

18. Conchúir Ó Géibheannaigh (Dingle)
9. Seán Ó Gairbhia (An Ghaeltacht)
15. Cathal Ó Bambaire (Dingle)

11. Barra Seán Mac an Bradán (Renvyle, Galway) for Mac an tSithigh (46)

Rochestown College

1. Paddy Lynch (St Michael’s)

5. Nathan Walsh (Douglas)
3. Niall Quirke (Carrgaline)
4. Donnchadh Murphy (Douglas)

2. Darragh Kelleher (Cobh)
6. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
7. Seán Powter (Douglas)

8. Eoghan O’Brien (Douglas)
9. Evan Ryle (Carrigaline)

10. Liam O’Sullivan (St Michael’s)
12. Daniel Meaney (St Michael’s)
14. Matthew McAuliffe (Douglas)

13. Ben McAuliffe (Douglas)
11. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
15. Ciarán Cormack (St Michael’s)


17. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers) for Matthew McAulife (44)
20. Liam Dineen (Douglas) for Kelleher (49)
18. Cathal Sheehan (Douglas) for Ben McAuliffe (57)
19. James Holland (Douglas) for O’Sullivan (57)

Referee: Richard Moloney (Limerick)

This article was originally published on 28 February at 5.40pm

The Star returns for the Kingdom but no room for Cluxton or Brogan for the Dubs

53rd Leinster colleges hurling title for St Kieran’s after today’s win over St Peter’s

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: