This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 18 December, 2018

Club commitments means Tony Kelly misses out, while Cody wields the axe in Kilkenny

The Cats have made four changes after their defeat to Waterford.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

CLARE JOINT MANAGERS Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor have made a number of changes ahead of the Banner’s clash with Kilkenny on Sunday afternoon.

Ballyea duo Jack Browne and Tony Kelly miss out as they turn their focus to the upcoming All-Ireland club final on St Patrick’s Day, with Oisin O’Brien replacing Browne at corner-back and David Fitzgerald coming in for Kelly at midfield.

Elsewhere Aaron Cunningham into attack as part of a positional reshuffle with David Reidy reverting to midfield and Shane Golden losing out.

Kilkenny have made four changes from their defeat to Waterford last week, with Evan Cody making his debut and Kevin Kelly coming in for his first start of the year.

Pat Lyng, Ollie Walsh, Sean Morrissey and Jonjo Farrell all miss out while Walter Walsh and Richie Leahy, both of whom impressed after coming on against the Deise, make the starting team.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Evan Cody (Dicksboro)
3. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Conor O Shea (Clara)

5. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
7. Kieran Joyce  (Rower Inistioge)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)
9. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

10. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge)

13. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
14. Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon)
15. Kevin Kelly (St Patrick’s)

St Colman’s golden hurling era, Shaughs the forward star and back in the Harty Cup big time

Under pressure Ger Cunningham makes two changes for trip to Cork

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: