Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 29 September 2020

Poll: Who do you think will win this year's Connacht senior football championship?

It all starts Stateside today.

Image: INPHO

THE FIRST SHOTS will be fired in the 2017 provincial senior football championships today in Gaelic Park.

New York and Sligo have the honour of getting the ball rolling with their Connacht senior football opener at 8.15pm (local time 3.15pm).

The Connacht championship last year saw Mayo’s stranglehold finally broken after five years of dominance.

Galway are the reigning title holders, Mayo will be aiming to fight back to regain their crown while Roscommon were last year’s finalists.

But who do you think will claim silverware in Connacht this year?

Let us know.

Poll Results:

Mayo (1654)
Galway (1467)
New York (521)
Roscommon (246)
Leitrim (103)
Sligo (90)
London (33)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘I’d love to represent Down again but I’ve come out here and New York is my new county’

A winter playing basketball in Sligo and back from injury for another summer of hope with Mayo

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: