This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Thursday 17 January, 2019

Lam targets one more 'special day' as he names Connacht team for sold-out Pro12 semi

Eoin McKeon named in the back row for historic Sportsground clash.

Connacht: chasing one last win in front of their home fans.
Connacht: chasing one last win in front of their home fans.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

PAT LAM HAS made just one change for Connacht’s sold-out Pro12 semi-final against the Glasgow Warriors tomorrow (6.30pm), bringing Eoin McKeon back into the side which beat the Scots a fortnight ago.

McKeon replaces Sean O’Brien on the blindside for the historic clash at the Sportsground, Connacht’s first-ever appearance in the league play-offs.

The western province edged a tight 14-7 win to clinch home advantage when the sides met in the final round of the regular season, and Lam expects an even tougher test from the star-studded visitors tomorrow.

“We are under no illusions when it comes to the challenge we face against the defending champions Glasgow who are stacked with players with plenty of experience of Test match and knockout rugby,” Lam said.

“We know they will be much stronger than they were two weeks ago but if we channel our physicality and the excitement into our game, we will be able to meet that challenge head on.”

Henry Pyrgos returns from injury to take his place at scrum-half for Glasgow, while Scottish international duo Mark Bennett and Zander Fagerson, and Italy’s Simone Favaro are also restored to the starting XV.

Lam said: “It’s an exciting time for everyone involved in Connacht Rugby as we head into our first ever Pro12 semi-final.

“The reason we’ve had such a good record at home this season is the special atmosphere generated by our supporters and we’re all looking to give them another special day to remember in our last home game of the season.”


15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Niyi Adeolokun
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. Matt Healy
10. AJ MacGinty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Ronan Loughney
2. Tom McCartney
3. Finlay Bealham
4. Ultan Dillane
5. Aly Muldowney
6. Eoin McKeon
7. Jake Heenan
8. John Muldoon (captain)


16. Dave Heffernan
17. JP Cooney
18. Rodney Ah You
19. Andrew Browne
20. Sean O’Brien
21. John Cooney
22. Shane O’Leary
23. Peter Robb

Glasgow Warriors

15. Stuart Hogg
14. Tommy Seymour
13. Mark Bennett
12. Peter Horne
11. Sean Lamont
10. Finn Russell
9. Henry Pyrgos

1. Gordon Reid
2. Fraser Brown
3. Zander Fagerson
4. Leone Nakarawa
5. Jonny Gray (captain)
6. Ryan Wilson
7. Simone Favaro
8. Josh Strauss


16. Pat MacArthur
17. Ryan Grant
18. D’arcy Rae
19. Tim Swinson
20. Adam Ashe
21. Grayson Hart
22. Duncan Weir
23. Taqele Naiyaravoro

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Connacht’s Matt Healy adding consistency to try-scoring threat

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel