Cork and Kilkenny players make up shortlist for camogie senior player award after 2017 season

The intermediate and junior shortlists have all been announced as well.

CORK DUO RENA Buckley and Ashling Thompson, along with Kilkenny’s Anne Dalton, make up the shortlist for the 2017 Camogie Association/WGPA Players’ Player of the Year award.

pjimage (2) Thompson, Buckley and Dalton are all in the running. Source: INPHO

Buckley captained Cork to All-Ireland glory in September with her team-mate Thompson also hoping to add the individual honour to their O’Duffy Cup triumph.

Dalton was an All-Ireland winner with Kilkenny in 2016 and central to their run to this year’s decider.

The intermediate award will be contested by Claire Coffey from All-Ireland champions Meath, Keeva McCarthy from beaten finalists Cork and Kildare’s Emer Reilly.

Claire Coffey lifts the trophy Meath's Claire Coffey Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Westmeath pair Laura Doherty and Caoimhe McCrossan are in the running for the junior award, along with Dublin’s Aoife Bugler.

Caoimhe McCrossan Westmeath's Caoimhe McCrossan Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

Players who are members of an inter-county panel this season will now vote on the Player of the Year award based on the final shortlists, by email to WGPA or by a vote online, before Wednesday 18 October.

The award winners will be announced at the camogie All-Stars banquet on Saturday 4 November.

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

‘Incredible’ – Cork trio help club make rise to the top as they will play senior hurling in 2018

Kerry sensation Clifford happy to abide by wishes of O’Connor and Fitzmaurice

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel