This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 January, 2020

Cork missing senior pair as they make 3 changes for Munster U21 final

The Rebels head to Limerick as underdogs for the provincial decider.

Rebel rising: Dalton and Lowney celebrate their dramatic win against Waterford.
Rebel rising: Dalton and Lowney celebrate their dramatic win against Waterford.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

CORK HAVE MADE three changes as they bid to stun hot favourites Limerick in Wednesday’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling final.

The Rebels haven’t won provincial honours at the grade since 2007 and will have to do without two of their senior stars if they are to end that wait in the Gaelic Grounds (7.30pm).

Darragh Fitzgibbon is suspended after failing to have his red card against Waterford overturned while Luke Meade, who missed that dramatic semi-final win through injury, is not named in the matchday squad.

David Lowney is named in Fitzgibbon’s place in midfield while the other two changes see John Cashman start at corner-back and Tim O’Mahony at corner-forward, with Billy Hennessy and Aaron Myers missing out.

Cork (U21HC v Limerick)

1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. John Cashman (Blackrock)
3. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
4. David Griffin (Carrigaline)

5. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
6. Darren Browne (capt, Kanturk)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
9. Paul Leopold (Sarsfields)

10. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock)
11. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
14. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
15. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)


16. Eoghan Healy (Ballymartle)
17. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)
18. Darren O’Driscoll (Carrigtwohill)
19. Dayne Lee (Na Piarsaigh)
20. Dave O’Neill (Mayfield)
21. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
22. John Looney (Aghada)
23. Seadna Smyth (Midleton)
24. Ian Cahill (Cloyne)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘There are no sweepers…you just go out and express yourself’ – Casey enjoying U21 campaign

‘Any team would miss a player of his calibre’: Moran on potential de Burca absence

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel