Thursday 26 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO Superman: Jamie Clarke
# dominance
Jamie Clarke's brace leads Crossmaglen to a 17 point win for their 18th Armagh title in 19 years
Elsewhere in Ulster, St. Gall’s and Slaughtneil won county titles while Conor McManus’s Clontibret disposed of Kilcoo in the provincial championship.

OISIN MCCONVILLE and John McEntee led Crossmaglen to their fifth senior football title in-a-row and a 42nd overall with a comprehensive win over Armagh Harps in the Armagh SFC final.

Cross, who have only failed to win the Gerry Fagan cup once since 1996, thumped Harps with a 17-point winning margin. Jamie Clarke hit the net in the first half and from then on they never looked back.

Clarke’s second goal moments before the interval left the Ulster kingpins 2-7 to 0-1 in front at half-time and second half strikes from Kyle Carragher and David McKenna secured the victory.

Meanwhile, Slaughtneil became another club to achieve a senior football and hurling double when Gerald Bradley bagged a disputed late goal to give the underdogs a 1-8 to 0-9 win at Celtic Park.

St. Galls’ dominance of the Antrim SFC continued as they wrapped up their eight crown in-a-row with a four point win.

In the preliminary round of the Ulster SFC club championship, Kilcoo crashed out of the competition when Monaghan star Dessie Mone buried a last minute goal to send Clontibret into the next round.


Ulster club SFC first round
Kilcoo 0-11 Clontibret 1-9, Pairc Esler

Antrim SFC final
Cargin 0-10 St Gall’s 1-11, Ahoghill

Armagh SFC final
Armagh Harps 0-9 Crossmaglen 4-14, Athletic Grounds

Derry SFC final
Ballinderry 0-9 Slaughtneil 1-8, Celtic Park

Gary Sice and Michael Lundy on fire as Corofin cruise to Galway title

O’Connor brothers help Ballintubber take third Mayo crown after early goal blitz

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Related Tags