Tuesday 7 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO Moran: finished with 1-3 (file photo).
# Waterford SHC
Kevin Moran battles through pain barrier to lead De La Salle back to Waterford hurling final
Moran and De La Salle book final place for the first time in five years.

De La Salle 1-13

Passage 3-6

HURLER OF THE YEAR contender Kevin Moran battled through the pain barrier to lead De La Salle to their first Waterford SHC final in five years.

The 30-year-old needed treatment on three occasions in the first half for a knee injury but he was redeployed in the full forward line to devastating effect. In Moran’s absence, the revised half back unit of Shane McNulty, Eoin Madigan and Tom Moran completely took over, and his 1-3 from play, including a pivotal goal on the stroke of half time, slipped them past a resolute Passage in a savage semi-final tussle.

Owen Connors levelled the match for the fourth time with an injury time penalty after a foul on Passage sub Eoin Kelly. With extra time looming large, Jack Fagan produced the winning point on 63 minutes and Salle rejoiced at Pat Casey’s final whistle.

In wretched conditions, Passage dictated the terms of engagement in the first half. Captain Pa Walsh mopped up at the back and John Tracey’s team hounded their opponents all over the park. Late inclusion Liam Flynn lashed to the net in the seventh minute and Aaron Connors tapped home a second after Shaun O’Brien blocked Killian Fitzgerald’s initial shot.

Passage rued a total of 15 wides however and the defining moment of the contest came just before the break. John Whitty darted through the Salle defence but fired right and wide with the goal at his mercy. In the next play, Moran burst forward and a fierce shot squirmed under Eddie Lynch. John Mullane tied it up in added time with his third from play, leaving it 2-4 to 1-7 at the break.

Three Moran points and two Shane Ryan frees left the three-time champions four to the good entering the last 10  minutes. Veteran forward Conor Carey pulled one back for a persistent Passage, and when Eoin Kelly  fetched a Fitzgerald delivery and Salle hauled him down for a penalty, Connors promptly dispatched it.

But Fagan had the final say of this gripping encounter.

Scorers for De La Salle: Kevin Moran 1-3, Shane Ryan (2fs), John Mullane 0-3 each, Jake Dillon 0-2, Tom Moran, Jack Fagan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Passage: Owen Connors 1-3 (1-0 pen, 2fs), Liam Flynn, Aaron Connors 1-0 each, Thomas Connors, Killian Fitzgerald, Conor Carey 0-1 each.

De La Salle

1. Shaun O’Brien

2. Stephen Dalton
3. Ian Flynn
4. Michael Doherty

5. Shane McNulty
6. Kevin Moran
7. Tom Moran

8. Eddie Barrett
9. Paidi Nevin

10. Adam Farrell
11. Jake Dillon
12. Jack Fagan

13. John Mullane
14. Eoin Madigan
15. Shane Ryan


18. Kenneth Byrne for Flynn (7)
21. Eddie Meaney for Nevin (50)
17. David Greene for Madigan (56)


1. Eddie Lynch

2. Darragh Lynch
3. Jason Roche
4. Jason Flood

5. Adam Roche
6. Noel Connors
7. Gary Cullinane

10. Thomas Connors
9. Pa Walsh

12. Owen Connors
8. Killian Fitzgerald
30. Richard Hurley

13. Aaron Connors
15. John Whitty
17. Liam Flynn


19. Conor Carey for Flynn (41)
20. Eoin Kelly for Aaron Connors (42)
26. Callum O’Neill for Adam Roche (50)
11. Stephen Lynch for Hurley (51)

Referee: Pat Casey

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Mayo champions Castlebar Mitchels held as Garrymore strike late to force semi-final replay

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel