This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 6 June, 2020

McHugh returns for Donegal’s Ulster semi as Down are unchanged

Jim McGuinness has named his starting XV for Sunday’s clash with Down.

McHugh: starts on Sunday.
McHugh: starts on Sunday.
Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Updated 15.09pm

MARK MCHUGH RETURNS to the Donegal attack for Sunday’s Ulster SFC semi-final against Down.

The All-Ireland champions show just one change from the side which beat Tyrone in the opening round. McHugh, who came off the bench in Ballybofey that day, starts in place of Neil Gallagher who is ruled out with a knee injury.

Otherwise manager Jim McGuinness keeps faith with the same XV, with Declan Walsh continuing at wing-back in the absence of Karl Lacey. Lacey made his first appearance of the season when he came on as a second-half substitute against Tyrone but the 2012 Footballer of the Year needed knee surgery shortly afterwards and is ruled out.

Patrick McBrearty, Colm McFadden and captain Michael Murphy — who scored a combined 1-8 last time out — again make up the full-forward line.

Throw-in at Kingspan Breffni Park is at 2pm.

Donegal (SFC v Down): Paul Durcan; Paddy McGrath, Neil McGee, Éamonn McGee; Declan Walsh, Frank McGlynn, Anthony Thompson; Ryan Bradley, Rory Kavanagh; David Walsh, Leo McLoone, Mark McHugh; Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Colm McFadden.

Down have announced an unchanged team for the game from the side that defeated Derry by five points in their recent Ulster quarter-final clash.

Down SFC: Brendan McVeigh; Daniel McCartan, Brendan McArdle, Keith Quinn; Declan Rooney, Peter Turley, Ryan Boyle; Kalum King, Kevin McKernan; Ambrose Rogers, Mark Poland, Niall Madine; Conor Laverty, Benny Coulter Donal O’Hare, Kalum King.

Meanwhile Leitrim and London have both named their sides for Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Leitrim make five changes in total from the team which beat New York with Ciaran Egan, Enda Williams and Barry Prior all coming in to a new-look defence. Brendan Brennan starts alongside Darren Sweeney in midfield while Paddy McGowan is named at wing-forward.

For London, Philip Butler replaces Kevin Lynam at corner-back and Paul Geraghty comes in for Ciaran McCallion at full-forward in the only two changes to the side which scored their historic win against Sligo.

Leitrim: Cathal McCrann (Gortletteragh); Alan Wynne (Allen Gaels), Ciaran Egan (Gortletteragh), Gary Reynolds (Carrigallen); Danny Beck (Mohill), Enda Williams (Clonguish), Barry Prior (Aughawillan); Darren Sweeney (Glencar Manorhamilton), Brendan Brennan (Melvin Gaels); Paul Brennan (Melvin Gaels), Emlyn Mulligan (St Brigid’s), Paddy McGowan (St Patrick’s Dromahair); Kevin Conlon (St Patrick’s Dromahair), James Glancy (Glencar Manorhamilton), Robbie Lowe (St Mary’s).
London: Declan Traynor (Fulham Irish); Philip Butler (Tir Chonaill Gaels), Stephen Curran (St Kiernans), David Mc Greevy (Kingdom Kerry Gaels); Seamus Hannon (Fulham Irish), Shane Mulligan (Fulham Irish), Tony Gaughan (Neasden Gaels); Mark Gottsche (Tir Chonaill Gaels), Caolan Doyle (Tir Chonaill Gaels); Greg Crowley (Parnells), Lorcan Mulvey (Fulham Irish), Barry Mitchell (Tir Chonaill Gaels); Padraig Mc Goldrick (Heston Gaels), Paul Geraghty (Neasden Gaels), Cathal Magee (Tir Chonaill Gaels).

Cork down 7 players from 2012 All-Ireland semi final loss for 2013 opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: