Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO
nerves of steel

Murphy's injury-time free rescues a draw for Donegal as Dublin extend unbeaten run to 32 games

Donegal haven’t been beaten in league or championship in Ballybofey since 2010.

Donegal 2-5

Dublin 1-8

Alan Foley reports from Ballybofey

A MICHAEL MURPHY free in injury-time salvaged a draw for Donegal against Dublin in an eventful Allianz League Division 1 fixture in Ballybofey.

On an afternoon where it was stated that one of the counties’ proud records would fall, the parity at the conclusion means both can still stand.

Donegal haven’t been beaten in league or championship in Ballybofey since 2010 – a run of 16 outings  - and Jim Gavin’s All-Ireland champions are now without a loss in 32 matches.

Two Donegal goals at the end of the first half within a minute turned the contest on its head, with Jason McGee and Ryan McHugh the scorers.

However, in an awkward wind Dublin came back and when Niall Scully goaled with 16 minutes to go following a flowing move to put Dublin in front by a point and that lead was doubled soon after by David Byrne.

However, Ciaran Thompson and Murphy, both from frees, earned a point for Rory Gallagher’s team.

In the first half, Donegal went some 25 minutes without a score as Dublin went 0-5 to 0-1 in front.

After McGee’s opening score, Shane Carthy and Eoghan O’Gara put Dublin in front before scores from Ciaran Kilkenny, Conor McHugh and Scully.

But two goals late in the half meant Donegal went in at the break 2-2 to 0-5 in front.

McGee, the 19-year-old midfielder, tucked home from close range on 33 minutes having been involved in the build-up originally with Frank McGlynn.

McGee’s shot was initially saved by Stephen Cluxton before the ball broke eventually to Jamie Brennan. His scuffed shot was steered home by McGee.

Then, after Donegal won possession  from Cluxton’s kick-out, Brennan fed McHugh, who broke through to score his side’s second.

The wind made for an awkward second half but it was Dublin who pushed the case and Scully finished well for a goal from a pass by Kevin McManamon when in on Mark Anthony McGinley.

However, Donegal came back to get on terms to earn a draw – the same result the sides shared in 2013 when Jim McGuinness’s All-Ireland champions were relegated from the top flight.

Scorers for Donegal: J McGee 1-1, R McHugh 1-0, C Thompson, M Murphy 0-2f each

Scorers for Dublin: N Scully 1-1, D Rock 0-3 (3f), S Carthy, C Reddin, C Kilkenny, D Byrne 0-1 each


Mark Anthony McGinley

Paddy McGrath
Neil McGee
Eoghan Ban Gallagher

Ryan McHugh
Caolan Ward
Paul Brennan

Jason McGee
Michael Murphy

Frank McGlynn
Micheál Carroll
Martin O’Reilly

Eoin McHugh
Jamie Brennan
Ciaran Thompson

Hugh McFadden for J.Brennan (40)
Darach O’Connor for P.Brennan (45)
Eamonn Doherty for Carroll (57)
Stephen McBrearty for E.McHugh (63).


Stephen Cluxton

Philip McMahon
Michael Fitzsimons
Eric Lowndes

Darren Daly
John Small
Jack McCaffrey

Brian Fenton
Ciaran Reddin

Niall Scully
Ciaran Kilkenny
Shane Carthy

Dean Rock
Eoghan O’Gara
Conor McHugh

Paul Flynn for Carthy (42)
Michael Darragh Macauley for Reddin (42)
Kevin McManamon for O’Gara (44)
David Byrne for McCaffrey (57)
Jason Whelan for McHugh (62)
Emmet Ó Conghaile for Daly (69)

Referee: Ciaran Branagan (Down)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Gavin Doogan goal maintains Monaghan’s unbeaten league run against Kerry

Gareth Bradshaw edges Galway closer to promotion following impressive win over Clare

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.