Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 11°C
Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO Cian Mulligan's (file) scores were crucial for Donegal today.
# Close encounter
Donegal through to the All-Ireland MFC semi-finals with win over Roscommon
The Ulster champions had to overcome a very defensive Rossies side.

Donegal 0-10

Roscommon 1-5

DONEGAL ARE THROUGH to the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championhip semi-finals after a nervy win over Roscommon in Markievicz Park, Sligo this afternoon.

The Ulster champions just edged the first half despite facing a wall of 12 Roscommon players who seemed uninterested in contesting any of Danny Rodgers’ kick-outs.

The tactic frustrated Declan Bonner’s men for most of the opening period and the free taking of Kevin Smyth – as well as a Cathal Callinan score – helped the Rossies into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead after 11 minutes; Cian Mulligan with the sole score for Donegal.

However, the Ulster side eventually got to grips with the tactics employed by Fergal O’Donnell’s charges and three unanswered scores from Mark Carroll, John Campbell and Cian Mulligan gave them their first lead of the game on 20 minutes.

Another Smyth free drew Roscommon level again before Cambell’s second score of the game just before the whistle ensured his side would lead 0-5 to 0-4 at the break.

Two quick-fire points from Mulligan and Campbell opened Donegal’s account in the second half to stretch their lead to three points after 33 minutes.

That lead had doubled by 46 minutes when Jamie Brennan scored on the turn but Roscommon gave themselves a glimmer of hope a minute later when Noel Gately powered through to score the game’s only goal and make it 0-10 to 1-4 with 13 minutes remaining.

Roscommon cut the gap to two points when Hubert D’Arcy scored from play with three minutes remaining but that would prove to be the last score of the game after Smyth hit the post from a close-range free before Mulligan and Rodgers combined to prevent the Connacht side scoring what would have been the match-winning goal in injury time.

Scorers for Donegal: Cian Mulligan 0-4, John Campbell 0-3 (0-1f), Lorcán Connor 0-1 (0-1f), Michael Carroll and Jamie Brennan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Roscommon: Noel Gately 1-0, Kevin Smyth 0-3 (0-3f), Cathal Callinan and Hubert D’Arcy 0-1 each.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Teams and subs to follow…

Referee: Cathal O Hagan (Tyrone).

4 changes to Cork minor team to face Dublin in All-Ireland quarter-final

Jack O’Connor makes two changes to Kerry minor football team to play Kildare

Your Voice
Readers Comments