Cathal Noonan
Premier Power

Thurles Sars, Nenagh, Drom-Inch and Kilruane reach Tipperary last four

The semi-finals will take place in Tipperary on 11 October.

Updated 17.40pm

THURLES SARSFIELDS AND Éire Óg Nenagh booked spots in the Tipperary senior hurling championship semi-finals at Semple Stadium this afternoon.

They will join Drom-Inch and Kilruane McDonaghs, victors in yesterday’s quarter-finals, in the last four clashes which will be played on 11 October.

Thurles Sarsfields are the reigning champions while Éire Óg Nenagh lost out in the 2013 decider. Drom-Inch last contested a final in 2012 while you have to go all the way back to 1986 for Kilruane’s last final appearance.

Thurles Sarsfields claimed a 1-23 to 1-14 win today over Clonoulty-Rossmore with former Tipperary senior Pa Bourke shooting 0-11.

It was Clonoulty who were ahead 0-7 to 0-5 during the first-half thanks to the accuracy of Timmy Hammersley but then Thurles Sars took over and Conor Lanigan’s goal was central to a scoring burst that pushed them ahead 1-12 to 0-8.

Entering the final quarter Clonoulty had cut the gap to six points – 1-16 to 0-13 – but Thurles Sars upped the ante again and John O’Neill’s goal at the death was a consolation effort for Clonoulty.

Pa Bourke 4/2/2013 Thurles Sarsfields player Pa Bourke James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

In today’s first quarter-final, Nenagh Éire Óg cruised to a 0-27 to 1-12 victory over Portroe in the North Tipperary battle.

James Mackey (0-8), Michael Heffernan (0-6), Tommy Heffernan (0-4) and Andrew Coffey (0-4) were the Nenagh Éire Óg scoring stars. They were ahead 0-13 to 0-5 at half-time before Portroe got an early second-half boost courtesy of 1-1 from Jimmy Creamer.

With ten minutes left, Portroe were still in the hunt as they trailed by four – 0-18 to 1-11.

But Nenagh powered to the finish line, hitting nine points and only conceding one in the finale as they ran out victors by 12 points.

Tom King tackles Michael Heffernan Nenagh Éire Óg's Michael Heffernan Lorraine O'Sullivan / INPHO Lorraine O'Sullivan / INPHO / INPHO

Drom & Inch had the goal touch in the opening quarter final yesterday as they defeated Kildangan, 5-13 to 1-15.

Tipp star Seamus Callanan was in devastating form, finishing with 2-4, 2-3 in the first half when Drom led by five points at half-time. Seamus Butler scored Drom’s first goal in the 10th minute with Callanan bagging his first six minutes later as a 65 went all the way to the net.

Darragh Egan was in good form for Kildangan, scoring two points from play with Ruairi Gleeson also on target but Drom’s forwards were always dangerous with Callanan bagging his second goal on the cusp of half time to give his side a comfortable eight five cushion.

Seamus Callanan Seamus Callanan starred for his club Drom-Inch yesterday Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

David Butler added Drom’s fourth goal two minutes into the second half, but former Portumna All-Ireland winner Micheal Ryan bagged a goal and added two points to bring Kildangan back within striking distance, but a late goal from Michael Everard sealed the 2011 champs place in the last four.

Kilruane MacDonaghs reached their first semi-final since 1994 yesterday as they got the better of Eire Og Annacarty, 1-22 to 1-14.

Justin Cahill helped get Kilruane off to a bright start but the sides were level at five points apiece after a quarter hour, with Ronan O’Brien lively for Annacarty. The first half was a dour affair and four frees from Kieran Cahill gave Kilruane a 0-9 to 0-5 half-time lead.

Sean Loftus and Cian Darcy Tipperary minor Cian Darcy was part of the winning Kilruane McDonaghs team Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

The game upped a level after the break with Kilruane pushing out to a 10-point lead when county minor Cian Darcy cracked home a fine goal. However, within a minute, it was cancelled out by a Seanie Ryan goal as Annacarty fought back to cut the deficit to four points at one stage.

However, inspired by Niall O’Meara and Seamus Hennessy, Kilruane surged away in the final 10 minutes to take their place in the 11 October semi-finals.

There’ll be new Limerick and Munster senior club hurling champions this year

Horgan shoots Glen Rovers into Cork senior hurling final with win over Midleton