Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
Cathal Noonan/INPHO Dublin's Tomas Brady and Ciaran Reddin with William Young of IT Carlow.
# too strong
Costello bags a double as Dublin cruise to a 19-point O’Byrne Cup win
Jim Gavin’s side finished comfortable winners over IT Carlow.

Dublin 3-24
IT Carlow 2-8

Paul Keane reports from Russell Park

PADDY ANDREWS WOOED his home supporters at the St Brigid’s club grounds in Blanchardstown with an impressive 1-3 to keep holders Dublin on track for a Bord na Mona O’Byrne Cup semi-final place.

Andrews’ tally was exactly half of the 2-6 that Cormac Costello helped himself to in miserable conditions though each scored was richly celebrated by the locals.

In truth, it was a one sided contest as Dublin built on their draw in Wexford last weekend to pick up their first win of the Group A campaign ahead of Sunday’s clash with DCU.

Dublin led by 2-16 to 1-2 at half-time and manager Jim Gavin responded by making a whopping five changes at the break.

Andrews was one of those to go having earlier kicked three points from play and lobbed the IT Carlow goalkeeper for an expert 26th minute goal.

Jarlath Curley also came off having played at full-back for the first-half, the position now up for grabs following Rory O’Carroll’s decision to spend 2016 in New Zealand.

Paddy Andrews and Thomas Featherston Cathal Noonan / INPHO Dublin's Paddy Andrews takes a tumble under pressure from Thomas Featherston of IT Carlow. Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

He was joined in the full-back line for the first-half by Eoin Culligan and Oisin Manning of St Jude’s. Niall Scully played at wing-back while Tomas Brady and Ciaran Reddin formed a new look midfield.

Up front, Mick Deegan and Shane Carthy cut IT Carlow’s defence to ribbons with their sumptuous passing while Conor McGuire kicked two fine points also.

IT Carlow were better after the break and Dublin only outscored them by two points in that period. Chris Healy kicked 1-3 overall for the visitors and 1-2 in the second-half as they put some gloss on the score line.

Jim Gavin Cathal Noonan / INPHO Manager Jim Gavin is gathered around by his Dublin players. Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Cormac Costello (2-6, 1-0p, 0-3f), Paddy Andrews (1-3), Michael Deegan (0-5), Tomas Brady, Jason Whelan, Shane Carthy, Conor McGuire (0-2 each), Niall Scully, Philly McMahon (0-1 each).

Scorers for IT Carlow: Chris Healy (1-3), Mark Sherry (1-0), Chris Conroy (0-2f) and Kevin Ryan (0-2 each), Niall Kane (0-1).

General view of the match at Russell Park Cathal Noonan / INPHO General view of the action at Russell Park Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO


1. Michael Savage (St Vincent’s)

9. Eoin Culligan (Kilmacud Crokes)
10. Jarlath Curley (St Vincent’s)
14. Eoin Manning (St Judes)

21. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
17. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
22. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)

19. Ciaran Reddin (St Maurs)
3. Tomás Brady (Na Fianna)

24. Jason Whelan (Ballymun Kickhams)
11. Michael Deegan (Donaghmore-Ashbourne)
5. Shane Carthy (St Vincent’s)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

8. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
2. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)
18. Conor McGuire (St Maurs)

15. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams) for Brady h/t
23. Niall Walsh (Oliver Plunketts-Eoghan Ruadh) for Carthy h/t
4. Adam Caffrey (Na Fianna) for Andrews h/t
6. Michael Concarr (St Vincent’s) for Small h/t
12. Graham Hannigan (Clontarf) for Curley h/t
7. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna) for Reddin 45.

IT Carlow

1. Robert Sansom (St Joseph’s, Louth)

2. Israel Ilunga (Rosemount, Westmeath)
3. Thomas Featherston (Oran, Roscommon)
4. Thomas O’Connell (Rathangan, Kildare)

5. Anthony Dever (Lahardane, Mayo)
6. Daniel Dunne (St Joseph’s, Laois)
7. Declan Smyth (Dunsany, Meath)

8. William Young (Clonaslee, Laois)
22. Mark Russell (Lattin, Tipperary)

10. Chris Conroy (Lavey, Cavan)
11. Kevin Ryan (Summerhill, Meath)
19. Eoin Buggie (Stradbally, Laois)

13. Chris Healy (Two Mile House, Kildare)
14. Mark Sherry (Two Mile House, Kildare)
15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven, Cork)

20. James Mitchell (Mohill, Leitrim) for Dunne h/t
23. Niall Kane (Simonstown Gaels, Meath) for O’Connell h/t
9. Sean McGraynor (Avondale, Wicklow) for W Young (53)
12. David Aston (Killeshin, Laois) for Russell (66)
17. Aaron O’Brien (Tyrrellspass, Westmeath) for Hurley (69)

Referee: Noel Hand (Louth).

Westmeath make dramatic comeback, UCD overcome Meath and another win for Laois

9 other families that have come into opposition in sport

Your Voice
Readers Comments