Ethiopian duo Bekele and Dubiso the winners as 20,000 turn out for Dublin Marathon

There were also impressive finishes from Ireland’s Lizzie Lee and Mick Clohisey on Sunday.

Participants pass through Fitzwilliam Square.
Participants pass through Fitzwilliam Square.
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

ASEFA BEKELE AND Mesera Dubiso were the winners in the men’s and women’s races at the 2018 Dublin Marathon on Sunday afternoon.

Over 20,000 people turned out for the annual race, with Bekele finishing with a time of 2:13:23 and Dubiso 2:33:48.

Cork’s Lizzie Lee, who previously won the Vhi Women’s Mini Marathon, placed third in the women’s race, finishing with a time of 2:35:04 to be crowned the women’s national champion.

Olympian and Raheny Shamrocks runner Mick Clohisey finished after 2:15:57, winning the Irish men’s national title. 

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

About the author:

Aaron Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel