O'Gara to start at full-forward as Dublin make one change for Kildare showdown

Jim Gavin’s Dubs are bidding for a magnificent seven of Leinster titles on Sunday.

O'Gara: makes his first start of the 2017 championship.
O'Gara: makes his first start of the 2017 championship.
Image: Gary Carr/INPHO

EOGHAN O’GARA WILL start at full-forward for Dublin in Sunday’s Leinster football final against Kildare.

Jim Gavin’s only personnel change to the side which walloped Westmeath sees O’Gara handed his first start of the summer, with Jonny Cooper the man to drop out of the starting XV.

The Dublin team as named shows a host of positional changes from the Leinster semi-final. Eric Lowndes returns to corner-back, James McCarthy drops back to more familiar surroundings in the half-back line after starting Dublin’s first two championship outings in midfield, and instead, Ciarán Kilkenny is named to partner Brian Fenton in the middle.

Niall Scully, Paul Mannion and Con O’Callaghan make up the half-forward line, with O’Gara slotting in between Paddy Andrews and Dean Rock in the full-forwards.

Throw-in is at 4pm in Croke Park.

Dublin (SF v Kildare)

1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
4. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)

5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)

10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
12. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

13. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)
14. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge Street)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

From All-Ireland hurling finalist to Jim Gavin’s star corner back, Eric Lowndes continues to evolve

Kildare name unchanged team to play Dublin in Leinster final

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: