Dublin U20 team named for this evening's Leinster quarter-final against Longford

Throw-in at Pearse Park is 7.30pm.

Dublin U20 boss Tom Gray.
Dublin U20 boss Tom Gray.
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

DUBLIN’S YOUNG GUNS have named their starting team for their EirGrid Leinster U20 football championship quarter-final clash away to Longford this evening.

Throw-in at Pearse Park is 7.30pm, and Tom Gray has confirmed his side — led by joint captains Kieran Kennedy and James Doran of Ballyboden St Enda’s and Na Fianna respectively — for the provincial opener.

Northside outfit Na Fianna have five starters included tonight, with two hailing from Ballyboden. St Patrick’s Donabate, Lucan Sarsfields, Cuala, Kilmacud Crokes, Erin’s Isle, St Vincent’s, Naomh Mearnóg and St Maurs are the other clubs represented.

In the other quarter-finals tonight, Meath welcome Offaly to Navan, Louth host Wexford in Drogheda and Westmeath and Laois — who beat 2018 All-Ireland champions Kildare in the first round — go head-to-head in Mullingar.

Last year, Dublin beat Longford on a scoreline of 2-21 to 0-11 en route to the provincial final but there, they were beaten by the Lilywhites.

With several players still eligible this year, the Sky Blues kick off their championship campaign this evening off the back of the recent John Kerins Cup (U20 Football Development League).

Longford have not released their team as of yet.

dubs Source: Dublin GAA/Twitter.

Dublin U20 (v Longford)

1. David O’Hanlon (Na Fianna)

2. Darren Maher (St Patrick’s Donabate)
3. Daire Newcombe (Lucan Sarsfields)
4. Eoin O’Dea (Na Fianna)

5. Kieran Kennedy (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
6. Neil Matthews (Erin’s Isle)
7. Sean Lambe (St Vincent’s)

8. Peadar O’Cofaifgh Byrne (Cuala)
9. Donal Ryan (Na Fianna)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

10. Niall O’Leary (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. Karl Lynch Bissett (Naomh Mearnóg)
12. James Doran (Na Fianna)

13. Brian O’Leary (Na Fianna)
14. Ciaran Archer (St Maurs)
15. Ross McGarry (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel