Sunday 29 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
James Crombie/INPHO Shane Barrett and Sean O’Riain celebrate after their Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 hurling win.
# True Blue
Dublin produce sparkling performance to end Wexford's bid for four-in-a-row
The visitors ran out 2-12 to 1-8 winners in this evening’s game.

Dublin 2-12
Wexford 1-8

TWO GOALS IN the space of as many second-half minutes proved the difference as Dublin ended Wexford’s bid for four successive Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 hurling crowns tonight.

With Dublin leading by three points at half-time, Sean Ryan and then Sean Treacy netted after the restart as the visitors recorded a seven-point quarter-final victory at Innovate Wexford Park.

After beating the reigning champions, Dublin, who last tasted provincial success at this level in 2011, can now look forward to a semi-final tie at home to Westmeath on 15 June.

The sides exchanged points in perfect conditions before Dublin opened up a lead through Ryan, Eoghan Conroy, Treacy and Colm O’Neill.

A bright start saw the sky blues head into the break with the advantage and they extended it on the restart with goals from Ryan and then Treacy in the space of a minute.

To their credit, the home side searched for a route back into the game but Dublin’s prolific forwards kept the scoreboard ticking over to keep Wexford at bay.

Joe O’Connor with Sean Treacy and Mark McCallion James Crombie / INPHO Wexford's Joe O’Connor with Sean Treacy and Mark McCallion of Dublin. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

A late Padraig Foley goal was little more than a consolation for Wexford as their Leinster U21 defence ended in disappointing fashion.

Scorers for Dublin: Sean Treacy 1-5 (0-2f), Seán Ó Riain 1-1, Eoghan Conroy, Jake Malone 0-2 each, Mark McCallion, Chris Bennett (0-1 ’65) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: Conor McDonald 1-5 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65), Paudie Foley, Sam Kelly, Cathal Dunbar 0-1 each.


1. John Treacy (Na Fianna)

7. James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
4. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
17. Cian Hendricken (Naomh Mearnóg)

9. John Bellew (Lucan Sarsfields)
3. Cian Mac Gabhann (Kilmacud Crokes)
6. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna – Captain)

8. Jake Malone (Cuala – Vice Captain)
5. Mark McCallion (Kilmacud Crokes)

15. Eoghan Conroy (St Maur’s)
13. Andrew Jamieson Murphy (Na Fianna)
11. Seán Treacy (Cuala)

10. Seán Ó Riain (Setanta)
21. Colm O’Neill (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14. Chris Bennett (Faughs)

Padraig Foley dejected James Crombie / INPHO Padraig Foley dejected. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO


1. Oliver O’Leary (Buffers Alley)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

2. Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
3. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
4. Brian Quigley (Rathnure)

5. Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s)
6. Padraig Foley (Crossabeg-Ballymurn)
7. Rowan White (Glynn-Barntown)

8. Jake Firman (St Martin’s)
9. Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s)

10. James Cash (Shelmaliers)
11. Sam Kelly (Crossabeg-Ballymurn)
12. Conor Devitt (Ballyfad)

13. Cathal Dunbar (Ballygarret)
14. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna)
15. Darragh Pepper (Rapparees)

Referee: Peter Burke (Kilkenny)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

What started as a hobby is now his full-time career: here’s Rory’s story

Cork and Mayo footballers in opposition camps for hurling final in Croke Park next Saturday