The victorious Spain team after winning the World Cup final this year. Alamy Stock Photo

Fifa receive three bids to host 2027 Women's World Cup

The final decision will be made through an open vote at the next Fifa Congress.

FIFA HAVE CONFIRMED that three bids to host the Women’s World Cup in 2027 had been lodged “across three confederations” before the bidding process closed.

From Europe comes a joint bid between Belgium, Netherlands and Germany while Mexico and the United States also teamed up as they submitted another joint bid just before Friday’s deadline.

Brazil is the only country with a sole bid.

“Fifa will now conduct a thorough evaluation process, including on-site inspection visits that are due to get underway in February 2024, before publishing its findings in a bid evaluation report in May 2024,” the organisation said in a statement.

The final decision will be made through an open vote at the next Fifa Congress in Bangkok on 17 May, 2024.

South Africa had planned to bid but withdrew last month with their federation preferring “to present a well-prepared bid for 2031″.

The United States hosted the 1999 and 2003 World Cups on its own, and Germany hosted the 2011 event.

The last Women’s World Cup was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand in July and August this year, with Spain beating England in the final.

– © AFP 2023

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel