Dublin: 14°C Sunday 22 May 2022

Tipperary and Tyrone players lead the way in the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Teams of the Year

Champions St Mary’s and Mary Immaculate College feature heavily.

pjimage (2) Ronan Maher and Cathal McShane both claimed awards.

TIPPERARY AND TYRONE players lead the way in the teams to honour the best performers in this year’s Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cups.

Five Tipperary players – David Sweeney, Ronan Maher, Willie Connors, Stephen Cahill and Michael Breen – make the cut for the ‘Rising Stars’ hurling team, while Tyrone are represented by Conor Meyler, Kieran McGeary, Conall McCann and Cathal McShane in the ‘Rising Stars’ football side.

St. Mary's celebrate after the game Sigerson Cup winners St Mary's Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

That Tyrone quartet are part of seven players from Sigerson Cup champions St Mary’s, while there are eight players from Fitzgibbon Cup winners Mary Immaculate. Beaten Sigerson finalists UCD have four winners and defeated Fitzgibbon finalist IT Carlow also have four victors.

Mary Immaculate College Limerick celebrate winning Fitzgibbon Cup winners Mary Immaculate College. Source: Tom Beary/INPHO

Big names on the football side include Dublin senior duo Michael Fitzsimons and Jack McCaffrey, along with Down’s Kevin McKernan and emerging Kerry prospect Jack Barry.

The hurling side include Limerick senior trio Darragh O’Donovan, Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane, while there are also three Laois players included in Enda Rowland, Dwayne Palmer and Stephen Maher.

Rising Stars Football Team 2017

1. Joe O’Donoghue (Dundalk IT – Cavan)

2. Kevin McKernan (St Mary’s – Down)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (UCD – Dublin)
4. Kieran McGeary (St Mary’s – Tyrone)

5. Conor Meyler (St Mary’s – Tyrone)
6. Jack McCaffrey (UCD – Dublin)
7. Gearoid Hegarty (UL – Limerick)

8. Oisin O’Neill (St Mary’s – Armagh)
9. Jack Barry (UCD – Kerry)

10. Adrian Spillane (UCC – Kerry)
11. Conor McCarthy (UCD – Monaghan)
12. Conall McCann (St Mary’s – Tyrone)

13. Matthew Fitzpatrick (St Mary’s – Antrim)
14. Cathal McShane (St Mary’s – Tyrone)
15. Denis Daly (UL – Kerry)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Rising Stars Hurling Team 2017

1. Enda Rowland (Laois – IT Carlow)

2. David Sweeney (Tipperary – Mary I)
3. Damien Healy (Meath – IT Carlow)
4. Dwayne Palmer (Laois – IT Carlow)

5. Conor Twomey (Cork – Mary I)
6. Ronan Maher (Tipperary – Mary I)
7. Willie Connors (Tipperary – Limerick IT)

8. Stephen Cahill (Tipperary – Mary I)
9. Michael Breen (Tipperary – UCC)

10. Darragh O Donovan (Limerick – Mary I)
11. Michael O Neill (Clare – Mary I)
12. Cian Lynch (Limerick – Mary I)

13. Aaron Gillane (Limerick – Mary I)
14. Stephen Maher (Laois – IT Carlow)
15. John Hetherton (Dublin – Garda College)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Harte makes 3 changes to Tyrone team for Sunday’s trip to face Kerry

Blow for Donegal’s league hopes as Ryan McHugh to miss rest of campaign

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: