Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Tuesday 13 April 2021

Goujon dips in as France and Scotland make blindside changes

Stuart Hogg will win his 50th cap at Stade de France.

Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Updated 12.45

HEAD COACHES GUY Noves and Vern Cotter have both made a solitary change to their starting line-ups for Sunday’s meeting between France and Scotland in Paris (15.00 Irish time).

The tweaks come at blindside for both sides. Damien Chouly is replaced in Les Bleus’ back row by Bordeaux’s Loann Goujon. There are two further changes among the replacements as Toulouse’s Christopher Tolofua takes up the role of captain Guilhem Guirado’s understudy in place of Clement Maynadier.

Brive second row Julian Le Devedec also takes up a spot on the bench, replacing Clermont’s Arthur Iturria.

Vern Cotter has named John Barclay at number six in place of the injured Ryan Wilson (elbow infection) with John Hardie called away from Edinburgh’s Pro12 clash with Ulster tonight to take up a spot among the replacements.

The Stade de France fixture will see Stuart Hogg, last year’s Player of the Championship, win his 50th international cap. The 24-year-old is the second youngest Scot to reach the landmark after Richie Gray won his 50th during the 2015 World Cup.


15 Scott Spedding
14 Noa Nakaitaci
13 Rémi Lamerat
12 Gaël Fickou
11 Virimi Vakatawa
10 Camille Lopez
9 Baptiste Serin

1 Cyril Baille
2 Guilhem Guirado (c)
3 Uini Atonio
4 Sébastien Vahaamahina
5 Yoann Maestri
6 Loann Goujon
7 Kévin Gourdon
8 Louis Picamoles


16 Christopher Tolofua
17 Rabah Slimani
18 Xavier Chiocci
19 Julian Le Devedec
20 Damien Chouly
21 Maxime Machenaud
22 Jean-Marc Doussain
23 Yoann Huget


15. Stuart Hogg
14. Sean Maitland
13. Huw Jones
12. Alex Dunbar
11. Tommy Seymour
10. Finn Russell
9. Greig Laidlaw (c)

1. Allan Dell
2. Fraser Brown
3. Zander Fagerson
4. Richie Gray
5. Jonny Gray
6. John Barclay
7. Hamish Watson
8. Josh Strauss


16. Ross Ford
17. Gordon Reid
18. Simon Berghan
19. Tim Swinson
20. John Hardie
21. Ali Price
22. Duncan Weir
23. Mark Bennett

Subscribe to The42 Rugby Show podcast here:

‘I’m more of a realist now’ – Ryan returns to lead Ireland with his actions

Forget the bus, Schmidt’s Ireland have a point to prove after ‘wake-up call’

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: