Dublin: 16°C Thursday 19 May 2022

McInerney returns as champions Galway name team for Sunday's All-Ireland final

Limerick are the opposition in Croke Park.

Gearoid McInerney after last year's decider.
Gearoid McInerney after last year's decider.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

GALWAY HURLING MANAGER Micheal Donoghue has named his starting team to face Limerick in the All-Ireland senior hurling championship final on Sunday.

Gearoid McInerney has recovered from injury to start at centre-half back for the Croke Park showdown (throw-in 3.30pm, live on RTÉ / Sky Sports) as the Tribesmen look to make it back-to-back titles.

His Oranmore-Maree clubmate Niall Burke is the player to make way to facilitate the change while Joseph Cooney has been restored to the half-forward line.

McInerney came off in the 53rd minute of Galway’s first All-Ireland semi-final clash against Clare. He was named to start in the 1-17 to 2-13 replay win but a late pre-match change saw that switched.

Last year, the Tribe lifted the Liam McCarthy Cup for the first time since 1988, and on Sunday they’ll hope to repeat the feat of back-to-back titles last done in 1987 and ’88.

Limerick meanwhile, have also shown their hand.


1. James Skehill (Cappataggle)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
4. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle)

5. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. David Burke (St Thomas’) — captain


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

10. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
11. Joe Canning (Portumna)
12. Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
14. Conor Cooney (St Thomas)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel