Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Wednesday 12 May 2021

8 classic memories from Galway and Tipperary's senior hurling championship rivalry

Sunday’s All-Ireland semi-finalists have served up some cracking fare through the years.

1. 1987 All-Ireland semi-final

This was a magnificent game as Tipp headed for Croke Park having captured a first Munster title since 1971.

The Munster famine was over but Tipp’s quest for All-Ireland glory would have to wait as they came a cropper against Galway.

Noel Lane’s late goal sealed victory for the Westerners against a Tipp team that had led by two points.

Noel Lane/Conor O'Donovan 9/8/1987 Galway goal hero Noel Lane muscles past Conor O'Donovan in 1987. Source: ©INPHO

But after referee Gerry Kirwan disallowed a Tipperary point in the second half, Eanna Ryan netted at the other end for Galway.

Lane’s intervention then proved decisive and Galway would finish the year as champions.

2. 1988 All-Ireland final

Noel Lane was the scourge of Tipperary for two years running and it was his goal that settled the 1988 decider.

Lane came on for current Tribes boss Anthony Cunningham and scored the crucial second half goal that retained the Liam MacCarthy Cup for the men in maroon.

Galway’s defensive solidity proved crucial on the day as Conor Hayes did well on Nicky English and Pat Fox was held scoreless.

Conor Hayes and Nicky English 1988 Galway captain Conor Hayes and Tipp's Nicky English follow the ball during the 1988 All-Ireland final. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

Lane had been dropped from the starting line-up but came on to prove a point and ensure that Galway were champions again.

Remarkably, it’s the last time that Galway have managed to lift the MacCarthy Cup.

3. The Tony Keady affair

The build-up to the 1989 All-Ireland semi-final was dominated by what became known at the time as ‘the Tony Keady affair.’

Keady, one of the most majestic centre backs in the history of the game, was slapped with a 12-month ban for playing illegally in New York

That massive suspension ruled him out of the All-Ireland semi-final and the game that followed was full of rancour.

Tony Keady Galway great Tony Keady. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

Galway lost by three points as their dreams of a third successive All-Ireland crown were ended.

Galway pair Michael McGrath and Sylvie Linnane were sent off by referee John Denton in a stormy affair.

4. Mark O’Leary’s two goals

Tipp beat Galway in the 2001 All-Ireland senior hurling final and Mark O’Leary’s two goals had a big part to play in the Premier County’s success.

O’Leary struck in either half and while his first goal was a thing of beauty, his second was a more scruffy effort at the Hill 16 end.

It was a crucial score nonetheless as O’Leary’s second goal was the opening score of the second half.

Mark O'Leary Mark O'Leary on his way to scoring his second goal in the 2001 All-Ireland final. Source: INPHO

A lengthy Brendan Cummins puckout landed deep in Galway territory and O’Leary managed to somehow bundle the ball over the line at the Hill 16 End.

Tipp’s victory was their first All-Ireland senior success in ten years.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5. 2003 qualifier

Galway had home advantage in 2003 when the counties clashes at Pearse Stadium.

But Tipp emerged with a one-point victory, coming from four points down in the first half to advance.

Tipp were 0-4 to 0-8 adrift before rallying to within a point at half-time, 0-10 to 0-11.

Eoin Kelly Eoin Kelly breaks through the Galway defence in 2003. Source: INPHO

Benny Dunne’s goal was a massive fillip for Tipp in the second half and while Damien Hayes responded in kind, the visitors had enough in the tank.

Lar Corbett finished with four points from play but Tipp were well beaten later in the season by Kilkenny at the semi-final stage.

6. Damien Hayes goal

Tipp were well in control of the 2005 All-Ireland quarter-final, six points clear with less than 15 minutes remaining.

But Galway roused themselves with a stunning run of 1-6 down the home straight to win by two points.

Source: hockeyhurlingshinty2/YouTube

Damien Hayes scored a gritty solo goal that summed up Galway’s attitude on the day.

The Portumna dynamo wrestled Hugh Moloney to the ground before ramming a shot past Brendan Cummins.

7. Tipp’s one-point win in 2010

Two points down in the closing minutes, Tipp’s goose looked cooked in the 2010 All-Ireland quarter-final against Galway.

But three late scores from John O’Brien, Gearóid Ryan and Lar Corbett rescued Tipp’s challenge and they went on to become All-Ireland champions.

Source: HurlingGoals/YouTube

Pa Bourke’s role in that epic win should not be forgotten either.

The Thurles Sarsfields man came off the bench to create the points for Ryan and Corbett, the latter a stunning winner as the 2010 Hurler of the Year popped over the winner from the Hogan Stand touchline.

8. Tipp’s comeback last year

Tipp were staring down the barrel of a championship exit at Semple Stadium, trailing Galway by six points entering the final 20 minutes of last year’s qualifier.

That was before a scintillating run down the home straight saw the hosts win by nine to dump the Tribesmen out of the championship.

Source: officialgaa/YouTube

Johnny Glynn had been running riot on the edge of the Tipperary square before James Barry moved to the full-back position.

It proved to be a seminal moment for the Premier County as Barry occupied the full-back slot for the remainder of the season.

Originally published 5pm

Tipperary hurling legend has stepped down from football post in his native county

‘You have to be on your game more than ever’ – The job of an inter-county sweeper

About the author:

Read next: