Patrick Horgan celebrates Glen Rovers victory. Cathal Noonan/INPHO
The Boys Of Blackpool

0-12 for Patrick Horgan as Glen Rovers are crowned Cork senior champions again

The Glen saw off Erins Own to clinch back-to-back titles.

Glen Rovers 0-19
Erins Own 2-11

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

TWELVE POINTS FROM Patrick Horgan – including five a row to turn the game late on – were crucial as Glen Rovers retained the Cork senior hurling title with a final victory over Erin’s Own at Páirc Uí Rinn on today.

Having ended a 26-year wait for the Seán Óg Murphy Cup a year ago, the Glen achieved back-to-back titles for the first time since 1960 with this win but they were made to work for it by their opponents, who had been the last club to win two in a row, in 2006 and ’07.

The Glen had led by 0-11 to 1-3 at half-time and the excellent Dean Brosnan extended that lead on the resumption but points from Cathal O’Mahony, Eoghan Murphy – who finished with eight – and Maurice O’Carroll kept Erin’s Own in touch.

They trailed by 0-14 to 1-6 with 20 minutes left when captain O’Carroll benefited from Colm Coakley’s run and pass to crash a shot to the net.

Three in a row from Murphy put them ahead for the first time since the opening half but the Glen weren’t going to lie down. Horgan cut the gap to a point with a free and then, having missed one, tied matters with a fine score from Brosnan’s pass.

In the 56th minute, he put them in front again and two more in injury time left a goal in it. While Erin’s Own sought to fashion a late equalising goal, O’Mahony’s shot flew over the bar and the Glen held out.

Robbie O'Flynn and Maurice O'Carroll Erins Own and Glen Rovers battle for possession Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

The city side had been by far the better team in the first half but poor shooting hampered them. They led by 0-5 to 0-3 on 21 when James O’Flynn goaled for Erin’s Own, but they responded to that setback as Conor Dorris, Horgan, Cathal O’Brien and Brosnan all pointed to give them a significant half-time cushion.

Their supremacy was tested in the second half but ultimately they emerged victorious.

Scorers for Glen Rovers: Patrick Horgan 0-12 (0-6 frees, 0-2 65), Dean Brosnan 0-4, Conor Dorris 0-2, Cathal O’Brien 0-1.

Scorers for Erin’s Own: Eoghan Murphy 0-8 (0-5 frees), Maurice O’Carroll 1-1, James O’Flynn 1-0, Cathal O’Mahony 0-2.

Glen Rovers

1. Cathal Hickey

2. Calvin Healy
3. Stephen McDonnell
4. Gavin Moylan

7. Graham Callanan
6. Brian Moylan
5. David Dooling

8. Donal Cronin
9. David Noonan

10. Dean Brosnan
11. Patrick Horgan
12. David Cunningham

13. Conor Dorris
14. Cathal O’Brien
15. David Busteed


22. Mark Dooley for O’Brien (45)
18. Glenn Kennefick for Busteed (45)
25. Evan O’Connell for Dorris (60)

Erins Own

1. Shay Bowen

2. Cian O’Connor
3. Cormac Dooley
4. Jack Sheehan

7. Cathal O’Mahony
6. Shane Murphy
5. Stephen Cronin

8. Andrew Power
9. Seán Kelly

10. Robbie O’Flynn
11. Colm Coakley
12. Kieran Murphy

13. Eoghan Murphy
15. Maurice O’Carroll
14. James O’Flynn


19. Mark Collins for Kelly (half-time)
20. Cian O’Callaghan for James O’Flynn (43)
24. Stephen Horgan for Power (55)

Referee: Joe Larkin (Ballinora)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

13-man Dr Crokes see off Dingle as Kenmare survive Rathmore test to set up Kerry final

Recent champions set to clash after Mayo senior quarter-final draw is made

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.