This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 19 March, 2019

Atletico beat Leicester 1-0 - but should this have been a penalty?

Antoine Griezmann gave the hosts the lead on 28 minutes.

ANTOINE GRIEZMANN PUT Atletico Madrid 1-0 up against Leicester City, taking full advantage after a controversial penalty call went in favour of the hosts.

After a rapid break, Griezmann was brought down by Marc Albrighton, but although referee Jonas Eriksson pointed to the spot, replays showed that the first contact appeared to take place outside the box.

Here’s the still from BT Sport:


Former Leicester striker Gary Lineker — not exactly an impartial observer on this occasion, admittedly — was quick to criticise the Swedish ref.

“Stupid challenge, but outside the box,” he tweeted. “Ref 5 yards away. Extraordinary.”

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Teen superstar Mbappé gives Monaco the edge on emotional night in Dortmund

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: