Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 7°C
©INPHO/Donall Farmer/INPHO
# Debut Decider
Rochestown College overcome the champions to reach their first ever Harty Cup decider
The Cork school are scheduled to face Thurles CBS in the final on 21 February.

Rochestown College (Cork) 4-11

Ardscoil Rís (Limerick) 1-17

GOALS WERE CRUCIAL for St Francis College, Rochestown, whose dream season continued as they dethroned Dr Harty Cup holders Ardscoil Rís in their semi-final at Charleville today.

Rochestown only trailed once in the whole game, after points from Aaron Gillane and Ronan Lynch had put Ardscoil 0-12 to 1-8 clear early in the second half, but the response was emphatic.

Diarmaid O’Mahony’s point levelled matters before Shane Kingston netted in the 41st minute. Though the impressive Peter Casey responded for Ardscoil, Rochestown’s third goal arrived soon after as Seán Powter slid in for his second green flag after Seán Mullane had saved from Kingston.

That opened up a four-point advantage, 3-9 to 0-14, and when Ciarán Cormack rounded off a beautiful move with skilful control and a perfect finish on 55, it was 4-10 to 0-15.

Like any good champions, Ardscoil died hard as Lynch pointed twice and then, after a point from Rochestown midfielder John O’Sullivan – who was excellent throughout – the Limerick side were awarded a penalty.

Lynch drilled his shot past the three men on the line to give himself a personal tally of 1-9 and leave just three points in it, but it proved to be the last action.

In the first half, Rochestown had led by four points on two separate occasions but poor shooting was costly and Lynch had helped Ardscoil to level by the 26th minute. While Powter’s first goal gave Rochestown breathing space again, points from Casey (two) and Nathan Fox left it level at the break.

In their first ever Dr Harty Cup final, Rochestown will play Thurles CBS on Saturday, 21 February.

Scorers for Rochestown: Seán Powter 2-0, Ciarán Cormack 1-3 (0-3 frees), Shane Kingston 1-2, John O’Sullivan, Diarmaid O’Mahony 0-2 each, Liam O’Sullivan, Daniel Meaney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: Ronan Lynch 1-9 (1-0 penalty, 0-7 frees), Peter Casey 0-5 (0-2 frees), Nathan Fox, Michael Mackey, Páraic O’Loughlin 0-1 each.


1. Andrew Cullinane (Douglas)

2. Donnchadh Murphy (Douglas)
6. John Cashman (Blackrock)
4. Nathan Walsh (Douglas)

7. Cathal Sheehan (Douglas)
3. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
5. Darragh Kelliher (Cobh)

8. Eoghan O’Brien (Douglas)
9. John O’Sullivan (Blackrock)

25. Daniel Meaney (Blackrock)
11. Diarmaid O’Mahony (Douglas)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

15. Liam O’Sullivan (Blackrock)
10. Ciarán Cormack (Blackrock)
14. Seán Powter (Douglas)


17. Matthew McAuliffe (Douglas) for Liam O’Sullivan (54)
23. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers) for Sheehan (57)


1. Seán Mullane (Mungret)

2. Seán Hogan (Adare)
7. Nathan Fox (Parteen)
4. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Conor Holihan (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh)
3. Seán Phelan (Broadford)

13. Eoin Ryan (Adare)
15. John Flynn (Patrickswell)

11. Michael Mackey (Adare)
9. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
12. Páraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara)

35. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
8. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)


28. Kevin Howard (Old Christians) for Boylan (half-time)
17. Eoghan Mulcahy (Mungret) for Ryan (42)

Referee: Damien Fox (Clare)

Long’s goal against 14-man Castletroy books Harty Cup final spot for Thurles CBS

Rock starts as Dublin name team to face Cork in league opener

Your Voice
Readers Comments