Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 2°C Thursday 13 May 2021

No room for Hogg in Glasgow line-up as Munster recall big names

Stander, Murray, Earls and Botha are all back in harness for Rob Penney’s last chance at silverware in Ireland.

Hogg flies in for a try against Zebre last week.
Hogg flies in for a try against Zebre last week.
Image: Russell Cheyne/INPHO

MUNSTER COACH ROB Penney has made four changes for tomorrow’s Pro12 semi-final away to Glasgow, but his opposite number Gregor Townsend has made the surprising move of omitting fullback Stuart Hogg.

Defeat would make this Penney’s final game in charge of the province, but in an effort to delay his exit, Keith Earls, BJ Botha, Conor Murray and CJ Stander have all been brought back into the starting line-up.

Damien Varley continues as captain in the front row bolstered by Botha, returning after the birth of his daughter. Paul O’Connell and Dave Foley are back in harness as the second row pairing hoping to disrupt the impressive Warriors set-piece.

Ali Kellock and Jonny Gray will form the core of that pack, as Glasgow aim to end their run of Pro12 semi-final defeats.

The big call comes at fullback where Peter Murchie displaces Hogg, who was involved in a race with Niko Matawalu last week for a loose ball beyond the try-line.

Hogg’s fellow Scotland and Lions utility back Sean Maitland returns to the wing with Matawalu asked to provide half-back cover on the bench.

Glasgow: Peter Murchie, Sean Maitland, Mark Bennett, Alex Dunbar, Tommy Seymour; Finn Russell, Chris Cusiter: Ryan Grant, Dougie Hall. Jon Welsh; Jonny Gray. Al Kellock (Captain); Rob Harley, Chris Fusaro, Josh Strauss.

Replacements:  Pat MacArthur,  Gordon Reid, Geoff Cross, Tim Swinson, Leone Nakarawa, Niko Matawalu, Ruaridh Jackson, Sean Lamont.

Munster:  Felix Jones, Keith Earls, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley CaptainBJ Botha; Dave Foley, Paul O’Connell; CJ Stander, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan.  ReplacementsQuentin MacDonald, James Cronin, John Ryan, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paddy Butler, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Andrew Conway.

Eddie O’Sullivan is a head coach again with Biarritz in Pro D2

Gibbes confident that ‘hungry, motivated and self-driven’ Leinster will improve

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel