This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 3 August, 2020

Five uncapped players in Ireland squad for autumn tests but no Paddy Jackson

Joe Schmidt named his 37-man squad a week earlier than previously announced.

Ireland have their first autumn test on 8 November against South Africa.
Ireland have their first autumn test on 8 November against South Africa.
Image: Billy Stickland/INPHO

JOE SCHMIDT HAS named five uncapped players in his Ireland squad for the autumn internationals next month. Ireland’s first November test is against South Africa on the 8th and Jared Payne (Ulster), Dave Foley (Munster), Dominic Ryan (Leinster), Nathan White and Darragh Leader (both Connacht) were all named in Ireland’s 37-man squad for the first time.

Ian Keatley’s strong form for Munster over the last few weeks sees him come into the squad at the expense of Ulster’s Paddy Jackson. Schmidt’s selection was dictated by injuries to some extent as Sean O’Brien, Cian Healy, Keith Earls and Andrew Trimble are just some of the regular squad members on the sidelines.

Paul O’Connell captains the side as they continue life without the recently retired Brian O’Driscoll. The new centre partnership has been greatly speculated on and Schmidt has named four centres in his squad – Robbie Henshaw, Gordon D’Arcy, Stuart Olding and Jared Payne, although Ian Madigan can also play at 12.

Here is the squad in full:

Loosehead props:  Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 10
James Cronin (Dolphin/Munster) 1
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 10

Hookers: Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 77
Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 35
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster) 4

Tighthead props: Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 41
Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster) 2
Rodney Ah You (Corinthians/Connacht) 1
Nathan White (Galwegians/Connacht) *

Second Rows: Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) 94 CAPTAIN
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 17
Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 15
Dave Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster) *

Blindside Flanker: Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 23
Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 3
Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster) 1

Openside flanker: Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 16
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 4
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster) *

8: Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster) 67

Scrum-Halfs: Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 28
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 55
Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) 2

Out-halfs: Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro) 45
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 2
Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster) 10

Centres: Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 79
Jared Payne (Ulster) *
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3
Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 1

Back 3: Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 55
Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 54
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 8
Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster) 5
Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 6
Darragh Leader (Galwegians/Connacht) *

O’Driscoll thinks ‘Lunster’ fans showed a ‘lack of loyalty’

Ross, Kearney and Fitzgerald all ‘pencilled in’ for Leinster trip to Castres

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel