Ulster breakthrough Lyttle included in Ireland U20 squad for winter trials

Cillian Gallagher returns to the pack after already impressing for Nigel Carolan’s side this year.

ULSTER WING ROB Lyttle is the stand-out name in a 41-strong Ireland U20 squad which will gather for trial games before the end of the month.

Rob Lyttle scores his sides second try Source: Presseye/Simon King/INPHO

Lyttle has been the surprise package of Ulster’s season, with three tries already to his name on senior Pro12 duty.

Luke Carty, younger brother of Connacht’s match-winner against Wasps at the weekend Jack, is one of six men from the western province included, led by the powerful Cillian Gallagher, who played in the U20 Six Nations and World Cup earlier this year.

Cillian Gallagher is tackled Source: Camerasport/Dave Howarth/INPHO

Centre Jack Kelly and wing Jordan Larmour have forced their way into the Leinster A starting side this season. Young Munster openside Gavin Coombes has also impressed at British and Irish Cup level.

To warm up for the Six Nations campaign, Nigel Carolan’s squad will face development XVs from Leinster (tomorrow, Wednesday 21 December at 12.30 in Donnybrook) and Munster (29 December at 13.00 in Thomond Park).

Ireland U20 December training squad

Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
Rory Butler (Ballymena Rugby Club / Ulster)
Luke Carty (Buccaneers / Connacht)
Peadar Collins (Garryowen / Munster)
Joey Conway (UL Bohemians / Munster)
Liam Coombes (Garryowen FC / Munster)
Gavin Coombes (Young Munster / Munster)
Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins / Ulster)
Colm DeBuitlear (Corinthians/Connacht)
Conor Dean (St Marys College RFC / Leinster)
Caelan Doris (St Mary’s College RFC / Leinster)
Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
Ryan Feehily (Sligo RFC / Connacht)
Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon RFC / Munster)
Barry Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
Ciaran Frawley (Skerries RFC / Leinster)
Cillian Gallagher (Sligo RFC / Connacht)
Daniel Hurley (Garryowen FC / Munster)
Conor Kelly (Queens University Belfast / Ulster)
Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College RFC / Leinster)
James Lennon (UL Bohs/ Munster)
Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC / Leinster)
Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
Greg McGrath (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
Alex McHenry (Cork Constitution / Munster)
Simon Meagher (Roscrea / Connacht)
Rory Mulvihill (UCD RFC / Leinster)
Calvin Nash (Munster / Young Munster)
Tommy O’Brien (UCD/ Leinster)
Shane O’Hehir (Sligo RFC / Connacht)
Marcus Rea (Queens University Belfast / Ulster)
Jack Regan (UCD / Leinster)
Jack Stafford (Shannon RFC / Munster)
Johnny Stewart (QUB/Ulster)
Alan Tynan (Young Munster / Munster)
Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster / Munster)
Robert Lyttle – Queens University/Ulster
Charlie Connolly – Trinity College/Leinster
Jack Kelly – Trinity College /Leinster
Sam Deane – Cork Con/Munster
Adam Maloney – Shannon/Munster

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘It’s very hard to relate with anybody’: Leinster’s Hayden Triggs on the loss of his daughter

9 great matches that defined Irish rugby in 2016

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: