Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Monday 10 May 2021

Nash holds captaincy despite Kelly return to Ireland U20 midfield

Utility back Jack Kelly had been named captain before the tournament kicked off, but injury has forced ‘the armband’ to be passed along.

Young Munster flyer Nash pictured last month.
Young Munster flyer Nash pictured last month.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

IRELAND HEAD COACH Nigel Carolan has reshuffled his back-line to allow Jack Kelly take up a centre slot alongside Ciaran Frawley for Saturday’s (18.30, RTE 2) Six Nations meeting with Wales in Colwyn Bay.

The Dublin University back had been named as squad captain before the Six Nations began last month, but a shoulder injury forced him to miss out on the clashes with Italy and France.

The fullback-turned-centre was replaced as captain first by Cillian Gallagher (who picked up a shoulder injury of his own) before Munster wing Calvin Nash took over the leadership role for the win over France.

Kelly’s return moves Tommy O’Brien to the wing after his excellent display in the win over Les Bleus, while Jordan Larmour goes to fullback in place of Ulster’s Rob Lytttle.

Two of the three personnel changes Carolan has made come in the pack, where Young Munster duo Fineen Wycherley and Gavin Coombes replace Jack Regan and Marcus Rea respectively.

Wales U20

15 Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues)
14 Corey Baldwin (Scarlets)
13 Cameron Lewis (Cardiff Blues)
12 Keiran Williams (Ospreys)
11 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets)
10 Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues)
9 Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues)

1 Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues)
2 Corrie Tarrant (Cardiff Blues)
3 Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Blues)
4 Alex Dombrandt (Cardiff Met)
5 Sean Moore (Pontypridd)
6 Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues)
7 Will Jones (c) (Ospreys)
8 Aled Ward (Cardiff Blues)


16 Owen Hughes (Newport Gwent Dragons)
17 Steff Thomas (Scarlets)
18 Chris Coleman (Newport Gwent Dragons)
19 Jack Pope (Bridgend)
20 James Botham (Cardiff Blues)
21 Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys)
22 Phil Jones (Ospreys)
23 Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets)

Ireland U20

15. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College / Leinster)
14. Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC / Leinster)
13. Jack Kelly (Dublin University / Leinster)
12. Ciaran Frawley (UCD RFC / Leinster)
11. Calvin Nash (Young Munster / Munster) Captain
10. Bill Johnston (Garryowen / Munster)
9. Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University / Ulster)

1. Joey Conway (UL Bohemians / Munster)
2. Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
3. Charlie Connolly (Dublin University / Leinster)
4. Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster / Munster)
5. Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
6. Gavin Coombes (Young Munster / Munster)
7. Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College / Leinster)


16. Ronan Kelleher (UCD / Leinster)
17. Greg McGrath (Lansdowne / Leinster)*
18. Matthew Burke (Corinthians / Connacht)
19. Jack Regan (UCD RFC / Leinster)
20. Marcus Rea (Queen’s University / Ulster)
21. Jack Stafford (Shannon / Munster)*
22. Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon RFC / Munster)
23. Colm Hogan (Dublin University / Munster)

Billy Vunipola named on the bench as England get set for Scotland clash

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel