This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 13 November, 2018

U20s secure fifth-place play-off with win over England

Mike Ruddock’s side overcame the Six Nations champions 27-12 in Cape Town today.

JJ Hanrahan.
JJ Hanrahan.
Image: INPHO/Ron Gaunt

IRELAND’S U20 RUGBY are guaranteed their best ever finish at an IRB Junior World Championship after beating reigning Six Nations champions England in Cape Town today.

Mike Ruddock’s side booked a meeting with France in the fifth-place play-off thanks to tries from Barry Daly Iain Henderson and Jordan Coghlan  and the boot of JJ Hanrahan as they ran out 27-12 winners.

They had lost to England on the previous two meetings but were third time lucky at the University of Western Cape Stadium.

Ireland team: Peter Nelson (Dungannon/Ulster); Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster), Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Chris Farrell (Dungannon/Ulster), Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster); JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster), Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht); Des Merrey (Clontarf/Leinster), Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) (capt), Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster), Alan O’Connor (UCD/Leinster), Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Leinster), Iain Henderson (Queen’s University/Ulster), Jordan Coghlan (UCD/Leinster), Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster).

Replacements used: Conor Finn (Buccaneers/Connacht) for Horan (44 mins), James Rael (Garryowen/Munster) for Scannell (62), Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) for Marmion (67), Aaron Conneely (Corinthians/Connacht) for Beirne (71), Shane Buckley (Garryowen/Munster) for Coghlan (74), Jake Cawley (Old Belvedere/Leinster) for Furlong, Peter Reilly (Lansdowne/Leinster) for Merrey, Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) for Hanrahan (all 77).

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: