Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Saturday 10 April 2021

O'Dwyer strikes 0-8 as Cork IT book Fitzgibbon semi-final place by beating NUIG

Job done for the Pat Mulcahy-trained side at home in Cork on Wednesday.

John O'Dwyer starred for Cork IT today in the Fitzgibbon Cup.
John O'Dwyer starred for Cork IT today in the Fitzgibbon Cup.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Cork IT 0-19
NUI Galway 0-10

Denis Hurley reports from CIT Sports Stadium

LAST YEAR’S BEATEN finalists Cork IT will be in next week’s Fitzgibbon Cup semi-finals as they got the better of NUI Galway at the CIT Sports Stadium on Wednesday.

The hosts, managed by former Cork captain Pat Mulcahy, never trailed in this contest and were grateful to Tipperary star John O’Dwyer for his haul of eight points. In addition, Conor Hammersley excelled at midfield while Stephen Murphy and Tomás Lawrence were excellent in a tight defence.

CIT roared into the game, leading by 0-5 to 0-1 inside 11 minutes and O’Dwyer and Daire Lordan popped up with good points but NUIG got going gradually. They had pulled to within a point, 0-6 to 0-5, by 22 as Bobby Duggan, Niall O’Brien and Ger Hennelly got on the scoresheet but CIT pulled clear again.

Bobby Duggan Bobby Duggan was part of the NUI Galway side today. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

They led by 0-10 to 0-6 at half-time and did enough early in the second period to ensure they always had some breathing space without ever being fully comfortable.

As the game went on, the more it looked like NUIG would need a goal if they were to turn things around but CIT finished strongly.

O’Dywer, Kevin Kavanagh, Hammersley and captain John Cronin were all on target as they ensured that nine points separated the sides at the end. CIT face either Mary Immaculate College or Dublin IT in the semi-finals.

Scorers for Cork IT: John O’Dwyer 0-8 (0-4 frees), John Cronin 0-3, Conor Hammersley, Kevin Kavanagh, Daire Lordan 0-2 each, Noel McNamara, Patrick White 0-1 each.

Scorers for NUI Galway: Bobby Duggan 0-5 (0-1 free, 0-1 65), Cathal Mannion 0-2 (0-1 free), Niall O’Brien, Ger Hennelly, Stephen Ward 0-1 ward.


1. Gary Minihane (Courcey Rovers, Cork)

2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock, Cork)
3. Alan Dennehy (Charleville, Cork)
4. Tomás Lawrence (Brian Dillons, Cork)

5. Jack Herlihy (Newtownshandrum, Cork)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet, Cork)
7. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh, Cork)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8. Conor Hammersley (Clonoulty-Rossmore, Tipperary)
9. William Murphy (Meelin, Cork)

23. Daire Lordan (Courcey Rovers, Cork)
11. John Cronin (Lisgoold, Cork)
12. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk, Cork)

13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary)
14. Noel McNamara (Kilworth, Cork)
15. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline, Cork)

26. Patrick White (Midleton, Cork) for Lordan (37)
27. John Cashman (Lisgoold, Cork) for Walsh (57)
18. Micheál Russell (Aghada, Cork) for W Murphy (57)


16. Jonathan Griffey (Clarecastle, Clare)

3. John Hanbury (Rahoon/Newcastle, Galway)
4. Robbie Lane (Ballindeereen, Galway)
2. Cormac Diviney (Ardrahan, Galway)

5. Shane Cooney (St Thomas, Galway)
6. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley, Clare)
21. Ger Fennelly (Ballingarry, Tipperary)

7. Stephen Hynes (Craughwell, Galway)
13. Ger Hennelly (Ardrahan, Galway)

10. Kieran Ryan (Ballindeereen, Galway)
14. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh, Galway)
11. Niall O’Brien (Castletown, Westmeath)

15. Stephen Ward (Clarecastle, Clare)
12. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle, Clare)
19. Brendan O’Connor (Croagh, Limerick).

22. Cathal Hardiman (Athenry, Galway) for Cooney (21, injured)
18. Shane Dooley (Borrisokane, Tipperary) for Diviney (58)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly).

DJ Carey’s IT Carlow to submit appeal against Fitzgibbon Cup expulsion today

Tipp’s O’Riordan and Mayo’s Coen inspire UCD to All-Ireland Freshers final win over UCC

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: