Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
Bryan Keane/INPHO Kerry minor football manager Peter Keane.
# Kingdom Rule
Kerry still on track for All-Ireland five-in-a-row as they defeat Roscommon by 9 points
Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoích and Killian Falvey hit the net in the first half in the Gaelic Grounds.

Kerry 2-16
Roscommon 2-7

Paul Brennan reports from Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

FIRST-HALF GOALS from Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoích and Killian Falvey laid the platform for the Kerry minors to book their place in the All-Ireland semi-final and leave them just two wins from making it five All-Ireland minor titles in a row for the Kingdom.

Roscommon hit back with two second half goals but it wasn’t enough to close the 12-point deficit they left themselves at the interval, and the defending champions eased to a comfortable nine-point win over the beaten Connacht finalists.

The wind was a significant factor with Roscommon managing just four points against it in the first half, with Kerry faring only a little better in the second half with six points.

Those Kerry goals in the 16th and 28th minutes kept the Munster champions at a safe distance throughout once they had built up a 0-4 to 0-1 lead after early points from Ó Beaglaoích, Paul Walsh, Patrick D’Arcy and midfielder Darragh Rahilly.

Ó Beaglaoích’s goal arrived then after a tap down from Walsh, but Roscommon played well against a stiff wind and created several openings through that first 30 minutes, with Eoghan Derwin having the best chance when played through on goal but he opted for a point instead.

A move involving Rahilly, Walsh and Dylan Geaney set up Falvey to tap in Kerry’s second goal to help them to a 2-10 to 0-4 half-time lead and leave Roscommon with a mountain to climb.

The teams traded early points before Charlie Carthy goaled for Roscommon, but Kerry were still comfortable 2-13 to 1-6 leaders when Fearghus Lennon got on the end of Shane Cunnane’s pass and beat Marc Kelliher in the Kerry goal.

That seven-point gap was as close as Roscommon came to Kerry, and late scores from the impressive Paul Walsh and substitute Michael Lenihan cemented Kerry’s place in the All-Ireland semi-final in two weeks when they will play Monaghan.

Scorers for Kerry: Paul Walsh 0-5 (0-2f), Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoích 1-1, Patrick D’Arcy 0-3, Killian Falvey 1-0, Darragh Rahilly 0-2, Paul O’Shea 0-2, Dylan Geaney 0-2 (1f), Michael Lenihan 0-1

Scorers for Roscommon: Fearghus Lennon 1-1, Charlie Carthy 1-0, James Fitzpatrick 0-3, Adam McDermott 0-2, Richard Walsh 0-1


1. Mark Kelliher (Glenflesk)

2. Conor Flannery (Dingle)
3. Owen Fitzgerald (Gneeveguilla)
4. David Mangan (Laune Rangers)

5. Colm Moriarty (Annascaul)
6. Dan McCarthy (Kenmare)
7. Dan Murphy (Rathmore)

8. Darragh Rahilly (Rathmore)
9. Darragh Lyne (Killarney Legion)

10. Paul Walsh (Brosna)
11. Paul O’Shea (Kilcummin)
12. Killian Falvey (Annascaul)

13. Dylan Geaney (Dingle)

14. Patrick D’Arcy (Glenflesk)
15. Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoích (An Ghaeltacht)


20. Jack O’Connor (Beaufort) for Ó Beaglaoich (half-time)
17. Sean Quilter (Austin Stacks) for K Falvey (53)
19. Michael Lenihan (Dr Crokes) for D Geaney (58)
23. David Dineen (Rathmore) for P Walsh (62)
18. Kieran O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion) for O Fitzgerald (62)
21. Jack Kennelly (Ballydonoghue) for P D’Arcy (63)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Daniel Connolly (Tulsk)

2. Cathal Brogan (Strokestown)
3. Dylan Gaughan (Tulsk)
4. Sean Trundle (St Brigid’s)

5. Robbie Dolan (St Brigid’s)
6. Colin Walsh (Oran)
7. Jack Lohan (St Dominic’s)

8. Shane Cunnane (St Brigid’s)
9. Jonathan Hester (Castlerea St Kevin’s)

10. Charlie Carthy (Oran)
11. Fearghus Lennon (Clann na nGael)
12. Richard Walsh (Roscommon Gaels)

13. Eoghan Derwin (St Brigid’s)
14. Adam McDermott (Castlerea St Kevin’s)
15. James Fitzpatrick (Oran)


22. Ronan Garvin (Ballinameen) for E Derwin (40)
18. Niall Moran (Strokestown) for C Walsh (43)
21. Aaron McDermott (Castlerea St Kevin’s) for J Hester (48)
19. Keelan Gunning (St Croans) for R Dolan (57)
23. Daire Gregg (Boyle) for C Carthy (62)
17. David Wynne (Ballinameen) for D Gaughan (62)

Referee: Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel