Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Saturday 16 January 2021

Kerry take Munster honours against All-Ireland champs Cork

Louise Ní Mhuirceartaigh scored 1-5 as the Kingdom reigned supreme once again.

It was Kerry's day in Mallow.
It was Kerry's day in Mallow.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Kerry 2-13

Cork 2-4

KERRY OUSTED REIGNING Munster senior football champions Cork this evening in Mallow to claim the Dairygold Cup for the second time in three years.

Led by captain Cáit Lynch, Alan O’Neill’s side outscored the reigning All-Ireland champions by seven points in the second-half, as Cork fell apart.

An impressive first-half by the Kingdom saw them lead by two points at the turnaround (0-10 to 2-2) thanks to some superb kicking from player of the match Louise Ní Mhuirceartaigh, who finished with 1-5.

The All-Ireland winners struggled holding onto possession against the wind and Kerry hit them for six unanswered points to lead at half-time.

However two goals against the run of play by Aisling Hutchings  following a deflection from Kerry defender Maria Quirke – in the 10th minute and Annie Walsh three minutes from half-time kept Cork within touching distance.

Upon the restart, both sides hussled it out, but Kerry appeared to be the fitter side, even though Cork’s midfield duo of Briege Corkery and Rena Buckley played earlier in the day with the Cork senior camogie team in their win over Offaly.

A goal by former Irish basketball international Megan O’Connell in the 38th minute for Kerry and Ní Mhuirceartaigh 10 minutes later however ensured the trophy was headed over the border.

Cork will now face Meath in the All-Ireland qualifiers, in what will be their second time since 2013.

Scorers for Kerry: L Ni Mhuirceartaigh 1-5, S Houlihan 0-5 (2f), M O’Connell 1-1, and B Breen and P Dennehy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: E Farmer 1-1, A Walsh 1-0, V Mulcahy0-2 (0-1f), G O’Flynn and A Hutchings 0-1 each.


1. M O’Brien

2. M Ambrose
3. R Phelan
4. B Stack

5. V Foley
6. R O’Sullivan
7. G O’Flynn

8. R Buckley
9. B Corkery

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. C O’Sullivan (C)
11. A Hutchings
12. A Walsh

13. E Farmer
14. V Mulcahy
15. O Finn


D O’Reilly for E Farmer (43)
R Ni Bhuachalla for A Hutchings (43)
E Scally for A Walsh (50)
A T O’Sullivan for R Buckley (50)
G Kearney for V Mulcahy (55)


1. E Murphy

2. G Crowley
3. A Desmond
4. A Leonard

5. M Quirke
6. C Lynch (C)
7. C Kelly

8. B Breen
9. E Sherwood

10. D Hallissey
11. L Ní Mhuirceartaigh
12. S Houlihan

13. P Dennehy
14. L Scanlon
15. M O’Connell


L Rodgers for P Dennehy (46)
A Brosnan for E Sherwood (57)

Referee: J Mullins (Limerick).

Kilkenny hit 8 goals to hammer Tipp while Cork and Galway also triumph

Dublin come back for dramatic win over Limerick to reach All-Ireland quarter-final

About the author:

Mary White

Read next: