Monday 6 February 2023 Dublin: 7°C
INPHO/Cathal Noonan Murphy: in action during the McGrath Cup semi against CIT.
# Kingdom Come
Two debuts as Kerry name team for Croker clash with Dublin
Old rivals get league campaign off to a mouthwatering start in Croke Park on Saturday evening.

EAMONN FITZMAURICE HAS handed out two league debuts for Kerry’s Division 1 opener against Dublin.

Rathmore’s Paul Murphy and Stephen O’Brien of Kenmare both start Saturday evening’s floodlit clash in Croke Park.

The Kingdom side shows eight changes from the thrilling All-Ireland semi-final between the rivals last summer with three of that side — Colm Cooper, Fionn Fitzgerald and Johnny Buckley — preparing for an AIB club semi with Dr Crokes.

Donnchadh Walsh continues as captain in Cooper’s absence while another squad veteran, Paul Galvin, remains on the bench following his recent cameos at centre-back in the McGrath Cup.

Bryan Sheehan joins the injury list after picking up a knock in a trial game.

Saturday’s clash in Headquarters throws in at 7pm, the second part of a double-header which starts at 5pm with the Walsh Cup final between Dublin and Kilkenny.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Tickets are available for a reduced price of €10 if bought before the day of the game.

Kerry (SF v Dublin): Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin); Paul Murphy (Rathmore), Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore), Shane Enright (Tarbert); Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers), Brian McGuire (Listowel Emmets), Jack Sherwood (Firies); Anthony Maher (Duagh), David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys); Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion), Michael Geaney (Dingle), Donnchadh Walsh (capt, Cromane); Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys), James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion), Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare).

Substitutes: Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion), Paul Galvin (Finuge), Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore), Barry Shanahan (Austin Stacks), Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets), Paul Geaney (Dingle), Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh/Glencar), David Culhane (Ballylongford), James Walsh (Knocknagoshel), Alan Fitzgerald (Castlegregory), Shane O’Callaghan (Austin Stacks).

Donnchadh Walsh: Kerry dipping into hurt locker ahead of Dublin rematch

Rossies favourite Karol Mannion calls it a day

Your Voice
Readers Comments