Oh The Green And Red

Rochford gets it right as Mayo claim first win over Kerry in 21 years to seal return to All-Ireland final

Mayo ran out deserved five-point winners.

Mayo 2-16

Kerry 0-17

Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park

MAYO’S SUMMER VOYAGE continues and on this viewing, they’re only getting better.

Diarmuid O’Connor celebrates scoring Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Stephen Rochford’s men outplayed Kerry in almost every sector to seal their in their fourth All-Ireland final in six years. It was Mayo’s first championship victory over Kerry since 1996 as they exacted revenge for the replay defeat in Limerick three years ago.

Mayo made a mockery of the tired cliches that have accompanied them throughout this summer campaign. Aidan O’Shea frustrated his marker Kieran Donaghy to such a degree that the Austin Stacks man lashed out at the 27-year-old in second-half stoppage-time.

‘Star’ was sent-off to the delight of the Mayo-dominated 53,032 crowd in what may be his last outing in a Kerry jersey.

Kerry had earlier lost Peter Crowley to a second yellow, while Paddy Durcan was dismissed for Mayo after picking up a second booking late on in the heated affair. The sides shared 14 yellows between them, while Darran O’Sullivan and Cillian O’Connor were both black carded in the space of seven minutes shortly after half-time.

Darran O'Sullivan argues with referee David Gough after being black carded James Crombie / INPHO Darran O'Sullivan argues with referee David Gough after being black carded James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Andy Moran once again gave a heroic display for the Connacht side. Everything that went into him stuck, he bagged 1-1 and saw his man Shane Enright hauled off after 39 minutes.

Paul Geaney (0-10) was a rare bright spark in the Kingdom attack, while James O’Donoghue (0-3) looked dangerous after coming in at the interval, but otherwise their forward line looked lifeless.

Mayo had the smarts to sit deep and block out the space in front of Donaghy in the final quarter, and reel off scores on the counter.

Mayo appeared to be rotating their full-back early on, with Donal Vaughan and Seamus O’Shea spending time there in the opening 10 minutes, before Aidan O’Shea moved inside on Donaghy and held him scoreless in an outstanding display.

Kieran Donaghy and Aidan O’Shea James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

The big pre-game move was Eamonn Fitzmaurice’s decision to bring in Jonathan Lyne, Jack Barry and debutant Tom O’Sullivan in place of Mark Griffin, Anthony Maher and O’Donoghue.

Paul Murphy lined out as a sweeper for Kerry, but it only served to invite Mayo’s running game and gave them an extra man in midfield.

Murphy was pushed up as a wing-forward after half-time, but the damage was done.

Mayo crucified Kerry’s kick-outs in the first-half, while David Clarke was able to go short with considerable ease.

Mayo retained every single one of Clarke’s kick-outs in the first half, while Colm Boyle made two outstanding fetches from as Mayo pressed Brian Kelly’s kicks and forced him to go long at the far end.

Kerry led by 0-4 to 0-3 after the opening 11 minutes, with Geaney looking lively, but the cracks were beginning to show. By the 25th minute, Cillian O’Connor had five converted frees to his name Kerry continued to foul the Mayo runners.

Diarmuid O’Connor fisted into the net two minutes later, after Donal Vaughan’s attempt for a point dropped invitingly in front of the goalmouth. It was a ball Kerry stopper Kelly should have dealt with, but his caution under the dropping ball was emblematic of his team.

Mayo's Andy Moran celebrates after scoring a goal Lorraine O'Sullivan / INPHO Lorraine O'Sullivan / INPHO / INPHO

Mayo led by five at half-time but had that lead stretched to eight after Moran slotted past Kelly for a second consecutive game. O’Donoghue looked eager to make up for lost time and edged Kerry back into the game after his arrival off the bench.

The Legion man and Geaney hit 0-5 between them in a productive spell for the Kingdom, leaving them 2-12 to 0-14 behind on 60 minutes. Crowley, Donaghy and Enright were dismissed as scores from Doherty (45) and O’Loughlin settled the Mayo nerves.

Scorers for Mayo: Cillian O’Connor 0-6 (0-6f), Andy Moran 1-1, Jason Doherty 0-3 (0-1 45, 0-1f), Diarmuid O’Connor 1-0, Kevin McLoughlin and Conor Loftus 0-2 each, Paddy Durcan and Chris Barrett 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kerry: Paul Geaney 0-10 (0-8f), James O’Donoghue 0-3 (0-1f), Johnny Buckley, Jack Barry, Fionn Fitzgerald and Jonathan Lyne 0-1 each.


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)

4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

6. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
7. Colm Boyle (Davitts)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)

12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)

13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)

14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber – captain)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)


18. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels) for Vaughan (35+2)
20. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina) for Diarmuid O’Connor (ht)
24. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy) for Cillian O’Connor (52, black-card)
19. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore) for Seamus O’Shea (60)
22. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels) for Boyle (68)


1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)

2. Shane Enright (Tarbert)
6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
4. Killian Young (Renard)

7. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

20. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
5. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
23. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
17. Jack Barry (Na Gaeoil)

12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)
11. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes – captain)
10. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare Shamrocks)

13. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
14. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)


22. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) for Buckley (ht)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion) for Walsh (ht)
18. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes) for Enright (39)
21. Jack Savage (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Darran O’Sullivan (44, black-card)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels-Foilmore) for Young (50)
23. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Tom O’Sullivan (62)
9. Anthony Maher (Duagh) for Barry (65-, blood-sub)

Referee: David Hough (MeathG

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

The curious Colm Boyle case, O’Shea and Donaghy roles, Keegan form – Kerry-Mayo talking points

Rochford sticks to his guns as Mayo unchanged for take two with Kerry

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel