Dublin: 26°C Thursday 11 August 2022

Donaghy and Moran return as Kerry make two changes for Munster senior final against Cork

The Kerry minors have made one change for their battle with Clare.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

DAVID MORAN AND Kieran Donaghy both return to the starting side for Kerry for Sunday’s Munster senior football final against Cork.

Moran, who missed the semi-final win over Clare through injury, is named at midfield with Jack Barry dropping to the bench while Donaghy comes into the full-forward line as Barry John Keane makes way.

Killian Young returns to the match day squad after injury while last year’s All-Ireland minor winning captain Sean O’Shea and U21 defender Tom O’Sullivan are new additions to the bench from the team that defeated the Banner in Ennis.

Jack Savage is unavailable after an appendix operation this week while Bryan Sheehan and Brian Ó Beaglaoich are the other players to drop out of the panel.

Defender Fionn Fitzgerald will captain the side for the Fitzgerald Stadium clash. Cork will name their team tomorrow.

The Kerry minor team have made a single change for the curtain-raiser on Sunday when they take on Clare at 12pm in their Munster final clash.

Sean O’Leary returns from injury in place of Ryan O’Neill at corner-back as they seek to build on their semi-final win over Cork.

David Clifford captains the team from centre-forward and is one of four players who featured in last September’s All-Ireland minor final victory when they saw off Galway.

Michael Potts, Diarmuid O’Connor and Brian Friel were all in action in that game.

Kerry Senior

1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)

2. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes – captain)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels-Foilmore)
4. Shane Enright (Tarbert)

5. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
7. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
9. Anthony Maher (Duagh)

10. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
11. Kevin McCarthy (Kilcummin)
12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)

13. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
14. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)


16. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)
17. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)
18. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)
19. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)
20. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
21. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)
22. Killian Young (Renard)
23. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar)
24. Ronan Shanahan (Austin Stacks)
25. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
26. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

Kerry Minor

1. Deividas Uosis (Dingle)

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

2. Sean O’Leary (Kilcummin)
3. Chris O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
4. Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion)

5. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)
6. Eddie Horan (Scartaglen)
7. Niall Donohue (Firies)

8. Barry Mahony (St Senans)
9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

10. Adam Donoghue (Castleisland Desmonds)
11. David Clifford (Fossa – captain)
12. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)

13. Fiáchra Clifford (Laune Rangers)
14. Donchadh O’Sullivan (Firies)
15. Brian Friel (Rathmore)


16. Nelu O’Doherty (Dr Crokes)
17. Ryan O’Neill (Na Gaeil)
18. Ciarán O’Reilly (Austin Stacks)
19. Patrick Warren (Gneeveguilla)
20. Michael Slattery (Austin Stacks)
21. Jack Griffin (Dr Crokes)
22. Michael O’Leary (Renard)
23. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)
24. Eddie Browne (Listowel Emmets)

Fennelly a welcome return as Kilkenny make four changes ahead of Limerick test

Galway make one change for Leinster final as Dublin bring in two new faces for qualifier

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: